1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 5kb a sec a steep cap?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by <<Onafets>>, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey all,

    With Telstra i pay $50 and get capped to 5-10 kb/s when i go over 10 GB, does anyone think this is a bit steep? I have some friends in the US that get capped to 256kb/s (my average upload speed) when they go over, Is this because there in the US or is Telstra just that tight? (no offense to anyone that works there :D)
     
  2. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Very. I pay £17 for 1000KB/40KB (10Mb) and i get capped to 56k when i download too much between 4pm and 9pm weekdays, 10am and 9pm weekends.

    5-10k would mean it's difficult to load simple pages...
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Surely you mean 5kB/s?? either way man, thats dial up speed, whats your normal connection speed and 10gb in a day/week/month??
     
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Wow you get capped to dial up speeds too, who the hell are you with? I am on virgins 50mb so there is only capping for uploading too much, something like 6gb a day which I never come close to and even then they only cap you at 25% of your bandwidth which would eqaute to 12.5mb :toast:

    Dammit, didn't mean the double post, thought I was editing :wtf:
     
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Virgin. 10Mb package. I'm in a rural area, so that's my max. It's 'unlimited' and we all know that's a lie... lol
     
  6. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I'm with Sky and it's pretty sweet. 15.4Mb/s with around 800Kb upload and no download limit.
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Your on ADSL then not cable? and only their top cable package ie: 50mb is ever advertised as unlimited, the cap I mentioned above is for p2p only so I never hit it.
     
  8. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    5 kb/s is right my average is about 256 kb/s oh yeah, and thats on cable

    My upload is about 20 kbs max too, will do a speed test if it loads

    10GB a moth and average ping to america is abut 300-400 ms
     
  9. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Speed test not loaded since and youtube is about 1 min for 5 secs
     
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    for thse in the Uk who use Virgini Media.

    Traffic Management table

    [​IMG]
     
  11. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for the table, i've only ever hit 1mbs on p2p once :{

    So let me get this straight:

    10GB a month
    Cable
    Capped at 5kb/s
    Cant load a simple page
    Upload at 10kb/s NOT capped
    DL at 256kb average NOT capped
    At $50 a month

    Im really getting screwed here aye! :mad:
     
  12. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Do you have a table for Sky Broadband? We were explicitly told that there was no download limit for us and I do download quite a lot. :\
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I am right at the end in the 50mb bracket WHOOOOOOOOOOSHHHHHHH ........... see me go!!!! :roll: :shadedshu

    There is an FUP in place, pretty much the same thing as a download limit.
     
  14. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Still preparing the download test on speedtest :[
     
  15. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    The downside to that table is that you now know you get capped 75% not a mere 25% :eek:
     
  16. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Minecraft is gonna lag with these speeds :[
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,737 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    VDSL2 8Mbit/1Mbit for 28 EUR. 1.1MB/s down, 130KB/s up. No monthly bandwidth limits :D Couldn't be more happy :)
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  18. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    steph you noob, telstra has newplans! 50 bucks a month gets u 50gb download at 30mbps and upload of 5mbps. or 70 bucks a month is 200gb same speed! change ur plan! silly boy... XP
     
  19. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I have Sky Broadband Unlimited, if that makes a difference.
     
  20. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I think ill be posting speed test tomorrow lol, gonna keep PC on overnight to load :[
     
  21. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Don't throw plans at me, totally irrelevant to thread.
     
  22. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I said you get capped at 25% not capped 25% which still gives me 12.5mb should I decide to upload 6gb+ of p2p traffic which I never do. I'm a leecher baby :roll:
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  23. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Oh boy. Sky do have a limit. In fact almost all of the unlimited plans in the UK have limits - they are normally listed under either the "fair usage policy" or network management.

    After looking on Sky's site they claim that they do not put a fair usage policy or network management cap on unlimited users. However they do have an "acceptable usage policy" which they do not list anywhere and you need to contact them by email to find out the details of that cap (there will be a cap but they are doing what BT do and trying to hide it from users - BT is ~120GB/month if anyone is interested). They can't charge you more if you go over your usage so I wouldn't worry too much - if your speed drops from anywhere between an hour and 2 months then they've applied a limit on your line (some companies only put a limit on for a couple of hours, BT tried to put a limit on my line for 2 months but were too stupid to prevent me tricking them into removing it).

    There is only 1 provider I know in the UK which has no usage cap and that is Be online - mostly because they have a 1 month contract length so if they hid caps from people then imposed them their customers would leave after 30 days.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
  24. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Got results back from a different test, because speed test wouldn't load the flash.

    Got 3kB/s on a 1mb download :[
     
  25. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    dash way dat ... thats not a cap, that dial up
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page