1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is 7850 a worthy upgrade?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aksh_47, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Hi guys, i had a GTX 560 for about two months.. it played everything quite well and i was quite happy with it.. but it died a weak ago.. :| Sent it for RMA.. And the service center said if i wish, i could upgrade to a 7850 (1GB), but i have to pay some price premium (about $50).. just compared the two, and the 7850 seems to give about 5-10 frames more.. consumes lessor power.. i game at 1366x768, so my 560 handled my games really well with 50-60 FPS, everything maxed and with vsync.. now is the price premium for the 7850 really worth it?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    $50 isn't much, and at that resolution I'd say go for it... otherwise your out your 560 I assume and will have to drop 170 or so at least for another 7850

    however if they are willing to replace the 560 for free if u don't want teh 7850 then just stick with the 560 imo
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,164
    At your resolution it is only about a 2% performance increase. Not worth it.

    *Actually that is with a 7870. The 7850 is slower.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  4. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Are you talking about a GTX 560 Vanilla (336 shader units) or a GTX 560 Ti (384 or 448 shader units)? If it's the Vanilla version with less shader units, then upgrading to a HD 7850 would give you a relatively bigger performance boost than when you upgrade it from the Titanium version of the GTX 560 series. And when it's overclocked the HD 7850 could be as fast as a GTX 580, well, at least in Battlefield 3 according to Techpowerup's OC test of Club3D's HD 7850 Royal Queen 1GB.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,785 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,164
    [​IMG]
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,041 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,262
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Better off with a 7870 or GTX660ti
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Unfortunately the 560 non Ti is not in these charts. But you can compare it with a 6870 which is more or less the same performance. As you can see there is quite a jump in performance to a 7850 stock. Also these cards seem to scale very well with overclocking so that would be an added bonus. Also you can count in the 2GB VRAM compared with 1GB on the GTX560. My advice is to pay the 50$ and get the card.
     
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    at 1366x768 its a solid no, that card should be fine at that res unless you plan to get a new monitor soon

    do you.
     
  9. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Im not planning on changing my monitor anytime soon.. and im being offered the 1GB version for $50 more guys, not the 2GB (although there isnt a huge difference in performance, but still) Will the 560 be enough for playing future games like Cysis 3 on high/ultra settings on my resolution of 1366x768?
     
  10. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Why not, the 560 would do just fine at that res, but consider getting the 7850 it has Direct X 11.1 Support and Crysis 3 might have DX11.1 plus you will get more frames than the 560 at that res.

    How much was the 560?

    How much is the 7850, other than the obvious $50 for it, so whats the actual price?
     
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,573 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Location:
    Rochester area
    stick with the 560
     
  12. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  13. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    So guys.. i decided to stay with the 560 as most of u guys advised.. and as i searched the net, i saw a difference of about 5-6 frames in games like bf3.. the service center guys are goin to replace my standard 560 with an AMP edition card.. for free.. so thats an additional bonus :)
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,925 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    smart move honestly.
     
  15. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    But now there is one more issue.. i was running my stock 560 with a Corsair CX430 V2 PSU.. now, ill be getting the AMP edition which is about 150Mhz OCd as compared to stock.. now will my PSU be able to handle it? or should i turn down the clocks to stock speeds?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page