1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is a wireless lan possiable?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by incognito666, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. incognito666

    incognito666 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have got 3 computers connected to a wireless router, (linksys WAG-54G), 1 of them has a printer. I want to know if it is possiable to set up a lan through the wireless. I want to be able to share files, and the acess the printer from the other compters. I can allready do this if i plug
    two computers together with a crossover cable, but im not allowed to drill holes through my wall so it has to be done wirelessly
  2. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    if you configure them all in the same windows workgroup, you can share directories and the printer over the wireless network, once their all in the same workgroup and can see each other, you create user accounts for the machines on all the machines, and then once the printer is shared in the machine that has the printer, you install network printers on the others, they will automaticly print over network to the machine that has the printer, and sharing directories will allow you to transfer files between computers
  3. incognito666

    incognito666 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, i have got the file and printer sharing working now, but i dont know what you mean about the user accounts?
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2006
  4. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    sometimes to access a shared device/resource/directory on a different windows machine you need that machine to have a user account, it all depends how your windows security configuration is set
  5. incognito666

    incognito666 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how excatly would i do that. All my computers are running xp home. Though i do plan to add a computer with xp professional soon

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page