1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is Corsair reliable?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Loka2224, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. Loka2224 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando Florida
    I've never used Corsair memory really...and with the upgrade I'm working on I'm looking at 8gigs of RAM 2x4...now Corsair saves me money, or for A-data its another 50$ or Kingston 68$...So my question is, Is Corsair a reliable provider of RAM? Should I expect problems? :banghead:
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Corsair is a trustworthy reliable brand all-around with any PC product.
  3. Loka2224 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando Florida
    Thank you, also the RAM I'm getting as said is 2x4 @ 1600MHZ, for 24$ I could probably get 4x2 but its @ 1333MHZ...any advice you can offer?
  4. Loka2224 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando Florida
    Never mind, seems like 8gigs of RAM would be an Overkill, going to be getting 2x2 @ 4gigs 1600MHZ by A-Data just to be sure, I'll be saving.
  5. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,871 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,468
    you'd ask Corsair's reputation but trust A-Data implicitly? my opinions would be reversed there.

    not saying they are necessarily bad - but they are most likely not as high quality as Corsair. Still, I have used their ram before and had no problems. and I do agree 8 is overkill for 90% of users.
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Wonder what A Data RMA is like? Do they have a good customer service record?
  7. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,475
    The PSU's are great. The RAM sucks IMO. I've had bunches of them go bad. Personally I would go G-Skill or Patriot "Vipers".
  8. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    863 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Never ever had a problem with Corsair to be honest and have been using there product for years
  9. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    My RAM has never gave me a problem :)
    I've had this RAM for almost 2 years

    Corsair, I've only bought PSU from them.. And there several I bought I've only had to replace one... I actually just sent it off yesterday. RMA was very easy and fast
  10. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I always bought Kingston ram & never look back...

    Corsair is probably the best when it comes to overclocking but to me the big price tag doesn't justify the very little more you get over other good brand

    As for 8Gb of ram is overkill for sure , anything over 4GB is overkill unless you do some serious video/photo editing or running a couple VPC at same time

    For games & every day web surf & watch movies 4GB is more than enough you'll rarely use over 3.5GB anyways even with Crysis full blown @2500x1600 ;)
    Maybe if you use multi-monitors & Eyefinity would be using more than 4GB but that is not in everyone wallet...

    Anyhow people that use more than 4Gb on their PC for games only are just spending money for nothing
    it is as good as throw it in toilette & flush it :laugh:

    Until we see everything get 64bit & be mean stream (maybe in 3-5 years away?) we won't need more than 4GB :mad:
  11. lucas4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    232 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    corsair is a good brand!
    seem very reliable and helpful especially in the US!

    i really dont care about RAM brand tho! all the top manufacturers offer lifetime warranty, so id go with whoever
  12. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    I would say yes and also say the their support is outstanding.
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's like asking "Is Intel reliable?"
  14. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell

    well, it's like asking "Is nVidia reliable?"
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I've been using Dominators for years. I got a couple of sticks that were DOA, but never had a problem with one going bad over time.
    The support is outstanding and fast.
    Remember, if you buy a matched pair and one is bad, you will have to send them both back (and will receive another matched set).
  16. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    I only use Corsair RAM if possible, and in the past 6yrs ive had NONE die on me, ranging from DDR400, 800, 1066, 1333, and 1600. So yes i think there RAM is great and with a life time warranty on most.

    PSU's ive had 1 out of ummm 10 or more Die on me, so there PSU's also seem to be very good. Ranging from CX400,430,450, 500, 520, 620 and 650 and only the 620 Died on me last yr.
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yeah, see, what a dumb question. :)
    2DividedbyZero says thanks.
  18. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    precisely, manufacturers "can" be "considered" reliable, but not every product can be guaranteed as reliable - such is life - same as cars, tv's, phones and females. need i say more :D
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It is NOT a stupid question. OP was asking about the BRAND in general, didn't state specifics as to which model series either. Remember there isn't any stupid questions, the only thing stupid abotu them is if you don't ask.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  20. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    it can be considered a stupid question unless the OP expects every thing he buys in the world to be 100% working for the rest of his life, then its not a stupid question.
  21. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    He didn't ask if it's going to be 100% working for the rest of his life, he asked "is Corsair reliable?" Not a stupid question AT ALL if you are not in the know about such things.

    In response to the OP's question, I would say "on the whole" Corsair are seen as a very reliable brand but any hardware, from any particular brand can, and do, have problems at some point. Corsair however also excel with their warranties offered so this can also give added assurance to the end user.
  22. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    errr, you diss me then say ~exactly the same thing as me :confused:


    LMFAO :roll:

  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,803
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    2 Rigs, 2 Corsair water coolers(H70 & H50), 16GB of Corsair ram(8gb 2133mhz, 8GB 1866mhz), 2 Dominator Airflow Pro Parrametric Display kits, One Corsair F60 SSD, One Corsair PSU, One 4-year-old Corsair USB flash drive. AND.....this is just two rigs.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I trust Corsair explicitly. Anyone who does not, just simply had a bad expereince, and hasn't given them another chance. No offense, Mailman, but I do feel you are very wrong.

    Attached Files:

    • 022.jpg
      022.jpg
      File size:
      89.8 KB
      Views:
      1,379
    • airflow.jpg
      airflow.jpg
      File size:
      158.2 KB
      Views:
      1,499
    • 026.jpg
      026.jpg
      File size:
      151.8 KB
      Views:
      1,204
    Jack Doph and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  24. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I love their PSU's and SSD's. Both have performed very well for me. As far as ram goes, I've never had a stick of theirs go bad, so reliability has not been a concern. I've just not been happy with the overclocking potential or their mid-high sticks, and I won't dish out the crazy cash they want for Dominator GT's.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  25. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I didn't diss you at all :confused: I also didn't say exactly the same as you either :confused:

    And if you find that funny then :confused::shadedshu

    Perhaps spend less time jumping in there with misguided statements and more time helping the OP?

    To the OP - Perhaps look at starting a "new build thread" in the system builder section and we can advise you on a few more reliable parts.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page