1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is GPU-Z displaying my memory usage correctly?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Black Panther, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,289 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,617
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Both sets of ram are active..just they get the exact same data one them - it's not used as one large continuous 2 GB framebuffer.
     
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,653 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,991
    Hmm, could it be then that my game is using 870MB from vram, and since you say it's also mirrored on the other set, then system monitor and gpu-z are counting them hence saying that I'm using 1.74GB of memory in-game?
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,289 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,617
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nah. Becuase of how crossfire works, each GPU needs access to the same data, so the data is mirrored exactly. The only part that isn't mirrored is the one area that the rendered frames are output to to be sent to the main GPU. This area might be 128MB, but definitely not ~700MB.

    Also, as i mentioned on the last page, my 2 GB cards and 1GB cards also seem about ~700MB too high. I have a couple ideas of what this might be, but lack the proper understanding to figure out which is which. Hardware..yeah, makes sense to me..software...not so much. ;):laugh:
     
  4. turbine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is what I was thinking. But it wouldn't explain why it happens with single-GPU cards.
     
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,653 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,991
    It does? On which single-GPU card does this happen?
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,289 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,617
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Basically all ATI cards.;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page