1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is high vcore dangerous without high temps?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by will, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    Hi all,
    I have just built a new c2d system with a Asus P5B Deluxe, Intel E2160 (with AC freezer 7 pro) etc etc...
    I've overclocked the CPU to 3.28GHz (365x9), but it needs 1.6v vcore to be stable for some reason!!! I've looked around and other people have got similar overclocks with this CPU with waaay lower vcore, but o well every CPU is different!
    Anyway it idles at 25-30c coretemp, at load goes to 55-60c MAX. Obviously these temps are fine, I would have thought they would have been way higher with so much vcore but they aren't (AC7 pro rocks!). So my question is: is the 1.6v dangerous to the CPU (i know it's better not to go above ~1.5v) even though i have relatively low temps? Keep in mind this will be a 24/7 overclock.
    Thanks for the help!
    Will
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Yeah 24/7....that's a high vcore imo.
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I would guess, imo, your temps readings may be low.. BUT, if it is stable you should be good..
    dual orthos stable? congrats..
    will says thanks.
  4. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Heat is the killer over time. I think your c2d will be fine for now.
    will says thanks.
  5. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    cool thanks for all the help!
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i would back it down.

    thats prescott volts.

    i NEVER trust on board temp sensors. better to be safe than sorry.

    just my 0.02$
  7. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    See Here.
    Max voltage 1.5 volts max temp 64 c.

    However this PDF shows that Failure temp is around 74.4 c.

    So I imagine that 1.6 volts may not be that bad, (Providing temps stay well below max) but is "out of the Normal" range for sure.

    :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page