1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it bad to use DVI to HDMI cable?

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by vawrvawerawe, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    [​IMG]

    I see a bunch on ebay
     
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,581 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Mexico
    No, it's a straight pin to pin adapter.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    No. Just doesn't give you the option of only DVI like a DVI cable + DVI -> HDMI adapter would.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    What about DVI to VGA?

    [​IMG]
     
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Same. DVI-A is electrically compatible with VGA (D-Sub 15).
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Any decreased video quality on 1080p 14" as opposed to a standard dvi cable?

    And I just learned there are several kinds of dvi - DVI-D, DVI-I, DVI-A, etc. Which should I buy?
     
  7. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    [​IMG]
     
    digibucc and vawrvawerawe say thanks.
  8. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,158 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oregon
    Dual-link Model
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    VGA? Yes. VGA is analog.

    And I just learned there are several kinds of dvi - DVI-D, DVI-I, DVI-A, etc. Which should I buy?[/QUOTE]

    DVI-D is digital (best) compatible with HDMI (via adapter) and DVI-D/DVI-I
    DVI-A is analog (okay) compatible with VGA (via adapter) and DVI-A/DVI-I
    DVI-I is digital and analog (depends) compatible with HDMI (adapter), DVI-D, DVI-I, DVI-A, and VGA (via adapter).


    If the monitor has speakers: HDMI
    If the monitor does not have speakers: DVI-D
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    ok; DVI-D dual-link or DVI-I dual-link?
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    To be safe, DVI-D dual-link. I've seen a lot of monitors that won't accept DVI-I.

    I've bought lots of DVI-D dual-link male-male Rosewill branded cables that are great. You can get them for relatively cheap from NewEgg.


    Edit:
    3 ft: Rosewill Model RCAB-11053 3 ft. DVI-D Male to DVI-...
    6 ft: Rosewill 6ft. DVI-D (24+1) Male to DVI-D (24+1) Ma...
    10 ft: Rosewill Model RCAB-11054 10 ft. DVI-D Male to DVI...
    15 ft: Rosewill Model RCAB-11055 15 ft. DVI-D Male to DVI...

    If all you're doing is plugging a monitor into a computer via DVI, those will work.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thank you. I will do that.

    Main monitor has speakers and I have it connected to HDMI cable. But second monitor, there is an issue with the HDMI (blacks look gray, got $30 refund for this but the VGA port is fine, and I assume so is the DVI port), so that's why I'm not also using HDMI with that monitor.

    DVI to HDMI won't transmit sound, right?
     
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,049
    Right.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  15. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    What is the difference between single- and dual-link?
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It could be the graphics card. I had a 9800 GT with a borked DVI-I port.


    Bandwidth. Dual-link has twice the bandwidth as single-link. Single-Link is only capable of up to 1920x1200 @ 60fps & 24-bit. Dual-link can do the same up to 2560x1600.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    No. it is a laptop, and the hdmi cable works fine for the first monitor, but not the second monitor. I don't have my PC desktop finished built yet, haven't received the graphics cards.

    The issue is with the monitor itself. Which is probably why the seller included a VGA cable so that hopefully the buyer would never discover the HDMI problem.

    i found three better priced 10-foot dual link dvi-d on ebay
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sewell-DVI-...=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3f1510c0df
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/10FT-DVI-D-...=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item4cf4b28b75
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-10Ft-DV...S_Power_Cables_Connectors&hash=item27c8bccf97
     
  18. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    It doesn't list any resolution in the description. :confused:

    Oh, of course it supports it.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  20. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    here it is. easy to miss because their text is crazy ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    DVI-D supports 1080p. That's all you need to know.
     
    vawrvawerawe says thanks.
  22. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks erocker :)
     
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It only says dual-link in the title and they also claim it is HDTV. HDTV has nothing to do with DVI. I would be wary of purchasing.

    The fact it says "this cable does not support monitor larger than 30" inches" strongly suggests it is single-link (not that 30" means anything).


    Is it really worth the hassels of eBay to save $1.50?
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    581 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I always found ebay to be the opposite of hassle. But maybe that's because I've been using it for many years (decade or more) and am fully conditioned to knowing all the tricks to know who not to buy from. And since I use PayPal, PayPal *always* refunds me if the item is not as described. So I feel very safe using ebay.
     
  25. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    My DVI to HDMI cable does. Just had to test it to make sure :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page