1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it possible to enable two independent audio channels?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by key_notes88, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. key_notes88 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey all, I'm new here and I have a question about enabling two independent audio channels for dual monitors. Basically the question is, is it possible? I already have both screens setup, one is a Dell computer monitor with it's own 5.1 surround sound speakers (Logitech) and the other is a Samsung HD TV connected to the PC with an HDMI cable.

    Right now, I have it so the sound comes through the TV's built-in speakers, but if I want it to come through the computer's Logitech speakers, I have to go into the audio manager and set them as the "default device." To get the sound back on the TV I just go back and set the Samsung as the default device.

    But is there a way to setup two independent audio channels, in which, I could keep both the HDMI channel active along with the Logitech speakers and have whatever's on the TV play from it's built-in speakers, while whatever's on the Dell monitor play from the computer speakers?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I don't believe you can in Vista or Windows 7, you are limitted to one sound output at a time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Windows is only able to output to one device at a time. In fact, even if you have two sound cards, you would only be able to output to one at a time.
     
  4. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Wait.... what? (oh, where's that pot smokin' robot skit?)

    So, for example, you're trying to get Winamp on your monitor playing one song, and Winblows Media Player on the TV playing another song.... and you want the TV speakers to play one song, and the monitor speakers to play the Winamp song?

    Um.... no.
     
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Aww, this is exactly what I wanted to do; play a game (with audio through headset) whilst the kids are watching a film (with audio through speakers); on the same rig.

    No wonder I couldn't get it working :banghead:
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Windows is just kinda mean. It would make sense to be able to set like your media player to output to soundcard 1, and have the game output to soundcard 2, but mapping it in windows is impossible, as you have to choose a "default" device.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    The only programs that I use that allow me to split audio between devices is Media player classic and Foobar2000. you can set the playback device on each piece of software.. works on default windows 7 settings too... you just have to set the output playback device in the software settings.

    for instance I can listen to music my headphones through spdif out in foobar and then play a movie on MPC which is set to run through the laptop speakers via HDAD.. or hdmi out..

    only problem with my setup is my optical out is shared by by line out or standard headphone jack.... so I'm stuck to using laptop speakers if I'm running my headphones seperatley.. but i have another way around that but it's not cheap.

    But yes, you can split audio from seperate sources you just can't split a single output to 2 devices exactly as you want it in your description.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Looking at VLC's preferences, I think I'll be giving it another go soon.
     
  9. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    I do it in winamp, like PVTCaboose said : I open two winamps, I choose whatever sound card e.g default sound card (which for me is Realtek) I have and in the other instance, I you choose sound card 2 (which for me is a 5.1 headset which has an integrated sound card). Works great.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  10. key_notes88 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks for the responses guys. I just wanted to see if it was possible because I'm a little lazy and don't feel like switching my "default device" every time I wanna watch a netflix movie or play a PC game on my TV. But w/e, I'll manage.
     
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Could you send the audio of a media player through the HDMI of a graphics card while sending the audio of a game through the onboard sound on the mobo (or vice versa)?
     
  12. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You can write a script to do this. I wrote a script to switch the default device to HDMI when I plug into a TV. I just click it, and the device switches. This thread might be helpful.

    http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic2436.html
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  13. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Haven't tested that though. Interesting idea, worth testing imo, you just aroused my curiosity. I guess it should in theory, work though, as long as you have 2 sound cards. :toast:
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  14. jjnissanpatfan

    jjnissanpatfan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    208 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    vt
    I have used a sound card and the on-board sound. The games used the sound card and i had my music rocking through the onboard at the same time. The sound card gives directional sound on my headphones while the music is pumping through speakers from the on-board sound.Also this is with windows 7 64bit and my system specs.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  15. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Here is a picture of how it is working for me, as you see, there are 2 players, which are playing 2 different audio streams on 2 different outputs.

    [​IMG]
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  16. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I use my xbox360 heatset for teamspeak input and playback, and play regular sound over the desktop speakers, so it's only a matter of software support to enable dual audio streams. It's two seperate audio devices, and Win7 has no problem with it at all.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page