1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it possible to use both a AMD card & Nvidia Card ?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Durvelle27, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I want to know if its possible to use a AMD and Nvidia card in the same system. I want to use the AMD card for gaming and Bitcoin Mining and the Nvidia Card for Nvidia 3D Vision for my movies and such. No Physx. Is it possible ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    The way you are describing it sounds like it would work fine since what you are talking about doing wouldn't require using both at the same time having them in the same system seems to be a moot point.
     
  3. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Yes. You will need a motherboard with a Hydra chipset and good drivers ... Good luck with that.
     
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    the board is a ASUS IPIBL-LB w/ a Core 2 Duo E6550

    ok thanks. one more question will a HD 5870 & GT 440 run off a 480w PSU
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Yes It WAS possible and I was going to go that route for kicks. I was also going to do AMD graphics with a G92 for physx. That also was blocked.

    It's possible. Need specs of your PSU and whole computer system.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    its the HTPC in my sig
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    If it did run you would need to run two inputs to your screen, and switch between them when gaming/movies. that's SO MUCH EXTRA work for a HTPC, the reason people have HTPCs are to simplify things.
     
  8. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    573 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I ran a 9800GT and a HD6950 , although I did it with Hybrid Phys-x in mind, but the theory is similar. You Don't need two Screen's, I simply hooked a S-Video plug to the Nvidia card, and Ran it To the SAME monitor that My 6950 was powering, Then Created another Display on Desktop, and It all ran Very well for ME. You Could even use a "Dummy" plug, By Shorting out the Video plug from the GPU, to make it Think that it;'s plugged in. However I personally have never done it that way. I even ran the Two GPU's together without the Hybrid Phys-x, and I got a Modest performance Boost in unigine heaven.
     
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I once had my 9800gt in my system and I was able to use its outward display.

    That card should only get you about $30 a month at current btc/usd. Worth it? I think it is.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    I recommend you shell both cards and just buy a better (used) Nvidia card from the money you get. It will save you a lot of trouble, misery and wasted time for sure, but mining gonna be much slower tho:( OR stick with AMD and use some third party 3D solution:)
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yes, you can run nvidia and amd cards together, just like you can run any other two devices together.

    The only slight gotcha is that nvidia deliberately disable PhysX if the driver detects an amd card in the system. It's just a pathetic proprietary stunt that they pull - effectively throwing their toys out of the pram - and there's a thread on TPU which explains how to hack this out of them.

    amd don't nobble anything to my knowledge when they detect an nvidia card in the system.
     
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    You can use them in the way you describe although I'm not sure 3D Vision will work unless you connect the output to the nVidia card. I have a 7750 and a GT520 working in tandem, one crunching and the other folding. I also use the 520 for physx with the help of hybridize.

    If 3Dvision doesn't work thru the AMD card I guess you could use a DVI switch and connect the same monitor to both cards, duplicate the desktop and switch to the nVidia card when watching a video.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    my 3D Projector only supports Nvidia 3D Vision for 3D and Nvidia cards are terrible for Bitcoin Mining

    Do to power requirements and me not wanting to bu a new PSU i decided just to put the second card in my main rig with my HD 7950
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Maybe the best thing would be buying a beefier nVidia GPU (GTX670/680) for gaming/physx/3d vision and leave the ATi card mining.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i don't think i would pair such a powerful card with a Core 2 Duo E6550
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Sorry, thought you were going to use it with the 4100. GTX650 Ti then?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    They are pointless for mining.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Yes, as I said, mining would be much slower on Nvidia. I would stick to AMD then, and try my luck with a DisplayPort to (Active) Dual-DVI Adapter (just make sure you can return it if it's not working for some reason). Lightboost won't work for sure, but I don't see any reason why 3D vision wouldn't.
     
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Nope my FX 4100 is paired with a MSI Twin Frozr III HD 7950 and don't wanna buy 2 cards as those over my budget which is about $80-100
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    that too
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,543 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    don't really care about lightboost and ok thx
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page