1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is it safe to run 8gb of ram at 1066 on a phenom 2 940?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by skellattarr, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. samwilliams81 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hai...
    you can try this but there should be some little problem in loading memory. memory will be slightly slow.when huge memory found in any device which are in minimum requirement, it get slow to fetch the data.
  2. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i got my memory today installed it and all gigs are running at 1066 with no problems woot.
  3. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Way to go :toast: have you noticed a difference in speed skellattarr? I am sure there is not much delay :D
  4. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    its always been fast so hard to tell but ill get better performance out of running virtual machines. and i yet to try some games out.
  5. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    What do you have it running at now far as the CPU and memory speed?
  6. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    rite now cpu is at stock 3ghz and ram 1066 5,5,5,15 it seems to be real stable later im going to overclock a little bit.
  7. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Sweet that is a great feat well to me it is hard to get 1066 on these 940's well for me at least.
  8. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    ya i had a hard time to when i was using corsair and i read a lot of others can't get to 1066 with other brands but the mushkins 996619 do it with no problems if you want to get 1066 i recommend getting the mushkins.
    Fatal says thanks.
  9. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    Woot i got my 8gb of memory running at 1120mhz and cpu at 3150 just a little bump. this is good memory

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page