1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth going 3WAY SLI with a GTX280?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Live OR Die, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    im looking to boost my frames in a few games would it be worth it getting a 3rd GTX280?
     
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    To me, there shouldn't be any games out the (besides Crysis) that would need another 280... You should be at great frame rate now with the two that you have.. Even the system you have... The only thing that myself would do, is grab a higher lvl screen, 24" or bigger.. But, that's me.. I think your system is great the way it is, and if your not rendering/coding, then to go with another card wouldn't be worth it. IMHO.
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am with you on that Cold Storm. Depending on game res, I can see a boost in your cpu overclock helping greatly though (1680x1050 or lower, possibly 1080p as well). See if you can squeeze out about 3.5-3.6Ghz from her.
     
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,274 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    If you REALLY want more performance, then consider dropping the i7 and mainboard, and getting a dual Xeon workstation board. You will get (up to) double the CPU crunch, and you can drop the GTX280's back in, and add a wad more system memory to boot.

    Then set up a decent ramdisk, put your favourite apps/games on it as a profile image, and it will fly... It will improve your AVERAGE and WORST frames... since all assets will now be in memory and the HDD isnt used at all.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I always considered Tri-Sli to be more about bragging rights then actually worth the performace increase. Your probably better trying to squeeze out higher clocks for better frame rates.;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I would suggest you stay away from TRI-SLI, from what I've read the performance gains are minimal (sometimes negative with apps that scale very poorly on multiple GPUs), and it would just increase heat output and power consumption. However, if the goal is just bragging rights, go for it, and buy another GPU :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Just my thoughts from a crossfire junkie . . .

    It really depends on how fast that 3rd slot will run with everything hooked up.

    I mean, if that 3rd slot is only going to be operating at x4 or x1 - there's no point at all in the additional expense for a 3rd card . . . if the 3rd slot will run at x8 - maybe. But, if it's still only operating at PCIE 1.0 specs, still not worth it; it'd bottleneck the card (especially if the card is designed around the 2.0 specs).

    Regarding games - even if a game doesn't claim to support more than 2-way MGPU setup, usually the drivers will make use of the additional hardware in some shape or form. It really depends on the game. Only titles where it'll really make a difference are Crysis and STALKER: Clear Sky/Call of Pripyat. Otherwise, the additonal boost won't really be noticeable.

    I'm in agreement with the above posts - OCing the CPU and SYS will show more gain than the addition of a 3rd card. The only x3+ MGPU setups I'd recommend would be to combine a dual-GPU card with a single, or two dualies together. It allows for both cards to operate at full slot potential (especially if the NSB supports x16/x16 and both slots are 2.0 compliant) . . . and further system OCing will show further gains.
     
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    i guess i should update my specs :( lol im now running a 24" at 1920X1200, i've tryed pushing my cpu high my memory didnt like it lol.
     
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    To me, if you say that your memory doesn't like the processor... Then you might want to grab a better kit in order to oc it more..
     
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    its more the board and not the ram im getting a new board in 2 weeks there out of stock :(
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,711 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    a 3 way is always worth it, especially when no other dudes are involved.

    IIRC there were a couple of tests done on Tri-SLI, and gains werent all that good for the additional card. Stick with what you got. :D
     
    El_Mayo, Live OR Die, Nick89 and 2 others say thanks.
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Which one did you choose? So no possibility at all of tweaking your setup more for that little extra Mhz?

    Thanks! I needed a good laugh.
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Me personally, would all ways make sure the OC on the system is good before introducing any more items to the mix.. When you throw in SLI/crossfire, your going to run into more of a hassle when ocing due to the fact that now you have two cards that is going for the same needs as one.. Plus going to run into playing with PCI-e freq to make sure that your system can run stable..


    Myself, I don't see the need to go tri-sli on a card that is all ready high end.. now, if it was 9800gt-x, then yeah, it would probably do the as good as 295...

    But, to me.. OC is the main thing to worry about be for thinking of going tri-sli.
     
  14. lemode New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,304 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    263
    I thought tri sli was going to be just an amazing performance gain over standard SLI however, it was minimal. It’s been a while since I’ve messed with that rig (since it was stolen from my home) but what I remember it was like maybe 1-4 fps at most. All I remember was not being impressed with it to a point where I took the card I bought right back and got my money back. Again, while benchmarks may show progressive gain, standard gaming would be fine with 2 and you’re not really going to notice a difference. Just save your money.
     
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    im getting a classified board 760 im still waiting on it :( im using a normal EVGA X58 SLI atm that ill be sending back to RMA, im just up my CPU to 3.8Ghz ran 3D Mark 08 didnt see much of a jump
     
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    i did some benching at 3.8Ghz and i dont see why i should keep it at that speed looking at the results

    @ 3.8Ghz

    @ 3.2Ghz
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    As I said before, don't mess with 3dmark06 anymore. Run some Vantage or a few games.
     
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    thats is vantage lol and i got like 3 more frames in crysis wow haha
     
  19. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Tri-Sli would be a waste, would be more E-peen than anything else. Though my question ends up being, what are you having issues running? What is not getting acceptable frame rates?
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You must have edited your post since I posted.

    Crysis :ohwell: ....


    Is that the only thing your having an issue with? Here let's trade video card setups for a week.
     
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Going from 2.66ghz to 3.8ghz and getting 3fps is the difference between playable and not but I'd keep it at 3.8ghz since the extra performance is free. I wouldn't bother with a 3rd card unless you can get one about £150 or really cheap. (Whatever that is in aussie dollars)
     
  22. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,291 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,245
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    I'm running SLI gtx280's myself, and in all honesty, I really don't see the need for another gtx280, even for crysis. The 2nd 280 gave me a 10-15 fps increase in performance. Last time I played crysis, I was getting around 45fps with a resolution of 1920*1200 running custom graphics mods( thread showing the mods- http://www.mechlivinglegends.net/forum/index.php/topic,4919.0.html ). Personally, I wouldn't spend another $150 on a 3rd gtx280. Instead, I'd look into going to a ATI 5870 or two.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. goldfries

    goldfries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Instead of Tri-SLIng the GTX280, I personally would just go SLI + OC.
     
  24. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    no i run my system at 3.2Ghz overclocking to 3.8Ghz didnt show much of a boost? look above at my 3D mark scores, ill probably just wait for the new GT3xx to come out
     
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    3Dmark isn't a good way to show actual performance increases in games.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page