1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth it to upgrade to

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nailzer, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. nailzer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    An AMD X3 720 BE, GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 with 4 gigs of A.Data DDR3 memory from a DFI 590 with an AMD 5000+ X2 BE with 4GB Crucial DDR2 that runs 3.3 overclocked. My current setup can do 11382 on 3DMark 06. Would I gain much for the money spent?
  2. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    well considering you would go to one of the new phenom II x3 cpu's, there should be a bit of a performance increase there. the 4gb to 3gb should also give you a bit of a performance increase, and it doesnt that its also ddr3. how much your performance will increase, really depends on what type of things you are doing with your computer. but personally, i think the upgrade would be worth it.
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yes it would be IMO. 720BE are better overclockers that Athlons you should be able to OCit to 3.7-3.8. So you will endup with higher frequency and more clock for clock more efficient CPU. And if you have luck to unlock forth core that would be sweet. But I`m not sure that it can be done on Gigabyte mobo.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    If your chaning CPU and MOBO, why not go intel?
    Much better performance for your money. Whats your budget and where are you from, I'll see what I can rustle up.
  5. nailzer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I'm thinking of $500.00 + since it'll get me 6 months with no interest through Newegg's Preferred Account. I have a Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3, Phenom II X3 720, ZALMAN CNPS9700, G.SKILL 4GB DDR3 PC3 12800, and an OCZ Solid Series 60GB SATA II SSD in my shopping cart at the moment,
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Much better IMO, and it only costs about $460 AMIR :D

    [​IMG]
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So the Q8200 can hit 3.8ghz now?
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You would need a pretty godly board to do 3.6ghz. 450FSB would be 3.1ghz, you would need 514FSB for 3.6ghz :rolleyes: Find a board that's guaranteed to hit that and then maybe it's worth it but the Q8200 is seriously weak.
    And the dark knight I posted is better than the normal 1283 and it's only 4$ more
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I based the S1283 on the MIR price.

    And forgot about the low FSb on the Q8200, lol. Thanks.

    In that case, I would get the Q6600 which is only about $30 more iirc
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  13. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    I would go Intel, Q6600/E8400/E8500. Skip the SSD, and go with the 74GB Raptor. Get a good P45 Mobo using DDR2.
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    If it was me, I would not bother buyign any HDD and put the money into a GTX 260, too.
  15. nailzer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That sounds like a good idea.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page