1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth me getting 2 Western Digital VelociRaptor HDD's?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    My current HDD is a Maxtor Diamondmax 500GB (7,200RPM) HDD. Thing is, I just have money to spend and was wondering should I get 2 300GB Veloci's and put them in a RAID 0 configuration?

    (I have no idea what RAID 0 is and I have no idea how the set it up) :laugh: HELP.

    I'd notice a speed increase in games (loading times)?
    mullered07 says thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    As far as setting up raid, the manual for the Rampage describes it pretty well on what it is and how to set it up. Two Velociraptors in RAID will be very fast and will make a nice setup for putting your games on. Have you considered just a single SSD?
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah load times are what your gonna get from them.

    TBH its probably not worth the money...but seeing as there isnt much else to upgrade in your rig and you have money to spend...why not :p.

    RAID is very easy to set up btw.
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well the largest they have is only a 128GB? They need to make bigger capacity drives and reduce the price. I'm not sure.

    I hope :cool:
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    It's not worth the money if you only want it for quicker load times... Granted it will produce those so if you want to toss the cash go ahead, but bang for buck its not worth it.
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Gotta agree here. Bang for the buck? No. Fast? Hell yes
    A good raid set up would have these:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136218
    They are wicked fast for the price.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    [​IMG]

    mine
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    heres my SSD...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    If you guys had my HDD and you were a serious gamer like me, would you want a few velociraptor HDD's in RAID 0?
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Haha, SSD's are "over" priced.
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Nope, you have a really good system, i would worry much about the HDD's, but if you have the cash then sure you will see a decent performance boot in terms of loading times in games but other then that the rest of your system is great and that all i would care about.

    But if you want to top of your system then sure get a couple good HDD's.
  13. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Thinking about selling my 2 vraptors and geting 4 of those new 64gb OCZ solid series ssd's. Raid 0 :)
  14. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Nah. Velociraptor's are not that great. Get 750/640GB Spinpoint F1's. Much cheaper with identical performance to the WD VR
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I wouldn't say identical.... The access times are more and the MTBF is significantly lower.
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'd rather buy a single 1TB F1, and spend teh rest on another 4870X2. :D
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    2 velociraptors not worth its price, the only thing that are going to give you are a few seconds of loading times. spent on another 4870x2 (as long as ur psu support it)
  18. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    If you want speed and space, wait a month or too. By that time, there will be a bunch of 256GB SSD's out on the market. They will NOT be cheap, I mean at all. But they have the space. They will be MLC instead of SLC, but they will still be faster than Raptor's
  19. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Raid 0 - Splitting the information in half into 2 Drives, So basically 2 HDD's working as 1 HDD , but if 1 HDD fails, you loose all your data.

    Raid 1 - Mirrors 1 HDD to the other, so it makes a backup of your current HDD..

    For gaming or what ever your everyday use of the computer, you can setup a RAID 0 in your own discretion , but doing a raid setup is nothing biggy... I never have bad luck with my HDD's , and I always had a RAID 0 on my systems, but performance wise not to big of a jump. Extracting huge ammount of Data from a WinRAR file was faster , but thats really it heh.

    IMO, go for like 2 x Seagate 500gb , raid 0 them, and your good until you want to buy SDD


    Read this if you want to know about RAID
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redundant_array_of_independent_disks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page