1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is it worth upgrading to a 6 core yet?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Go To Sleep, Dec 9, 2013.

  1. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    Stick to a 4 core or upgrade to a 6 core?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Your I7 will still beat a AMD six core in gaming but performs slightly slower than the i7-970 6 core due to it being based on newer tech (Gulftown 32NM). I would stick with what you have for a while.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,009 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    970
    Nope theres no innovation in the CPU market beyond sandy bridge 2700k on the intel front and Phenom II X6 1100T on the AMD front. CPUs are stagnant. Save money for now. Or buy a used i5 Sandy off ebay and a z68 or z77 mobo.
     
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,527 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,684
    Generally a 4 core is enough. Still though even a dual core is enough for most things. We need context. What application will you be using it for, gaming?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    Yes gaming mostly.
     
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,527 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,684
    Quad core is fine then. If you are thinking about upgraded your system I would do you gpu first.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,765 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,325
    This makes little sense, unless you are only looking at IPC and literally NOTHING else.
     
  8. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,948 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,006
    Lots of modern games use 6+ cores. Also, its nice to multitask and never get slowed down.
     
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    takes a little bit to slow down a 4 ghz 4core/8thread Nehalem
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Unless you are doing heavily threaded, heavily optimized work like 3d modeling there is no reason to have more than 4 cores right now. It's like having multiple Video Cards, 2 core = 1 gpu, 4 core = 2 gpu, 6 core = 3 gpu and 8 core = 4 gpu. They don't scale well unless the application is specifically optimized for them. Otherwise you're just allowing the horribly inefficient OS/CPU to divvy up the processing power and it just isn't very good at it. This is why Intel is better at gaming, their architechture is better at that type of calculation (pure power) while AMD is more focused on being efficient while highly threaded.

    For gaming 4 core will remain the best until it goes the way of the dual core and is completely replaced in mainstream machines...
     
  11. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    Off topic, what's the clock on your CPU? Can the socket 2011 clock pretty high?
     
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,351 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I would upgrade to an SSD before you do anything. Your CPU is fine and your GPU will hang on for another year.
    What games do you play? If you play StarCraft II, Civ V, Total War or other such RTS's, then a new CPU is worth it. If you just play man-shoot, it's kinda not worth it that much.
     
  13. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    :laugh: I've had 2 already, they died on me. I have a 500GB Velociraptor that I haven't used yet (clean install of Windows on it). :laugh:
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly have you thought about a second hand 2600K and Z68? I sold one not too long ago for like 250$ and would be a good upgrade from the 920
     
    rtwjunkie and RCoon say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,351 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Don't buy OCZ's then :laugh: but seriously what brand did you buy? Just get hold of a good old Samsung basic. Also the above is a great idea, especially on water if watercooling, Sandy overclocks way better. I did not have a fun time with IVB.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea and the temps seem alot better too. Mine is at 4.5ghz 1.3V and full load gets maybe 70 deg
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    OCZ :laugh: I like the Kingston SSD's. They're too cool :rockout:
     
  18. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,351 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Wow I said that as a joke. Don't base your experience with OCZ as a definitive outlook on all SSD's, you probably picked the worst brand besides those Kingston SSD's that are about as fast as standard HDD's. Don't remember the model, but the HyperX 3K Kingston SSD's seem solid enough.
     
  19. Aithos

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    175 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I have a 1150 chip, I went with an i7-4770k Haswell in my current build. ATM I haven't had time to overclock it yet, I've been busy with family stuff and holidays the past few weeks (I built it middle of november). So I'm running 3.5ghz with turbo at 3.9, I am only intending to overclock to 4.4ish but a decent amount of Haswell chips can go to 4.6ghz without too much trouble. 2011 chips can go a bit higher, I've seen a lot at 4.8ghz, but keep in mind a 4.6ghz Haswell will be at least as fast as a 4.8ghz Ivy and a bit more than that for Sandy.
     
  20. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    I won't mind 4.5GHz on my 920 :laugh:
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The highest out of all the 920's I have owned clocked at 4.2Ghz with relatively save voltages. I did get one to 4.5Ghz stable but voltage and temps were not what I wanted.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Go To Sleep

    Go To Sleep

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    111 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray, UK
    It's been a while since I've overclocked a CPU, I've probably forgot how to now :laugh:
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If it is at 4ghz stable then I would just leave it, another 200mhz really wont help much
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Enterprise24

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    76 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    save your money and wait for GTX880 (rumor state that it will come out in Q1 2014).
     
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,351 (8.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Yeah... no.
    No source, 28 posts, and nothing to back it up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page