1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is Microsoft Security Essentials still good?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by suraswami, Jul 31, 2014.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,952 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Just throwing this out there... I had a laptop with MSE get infected with some crap, and Panda Cloud went and cleaned it right up. I didn't give MSE a fair chance though as I never scanned with it, I just got rid of it and installed Panda (mostly because it's supposed to be very light on system resources).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,117 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    To me a good AV has got to slow a system down so much it partly depends on how much of the file it checks.

    I'd be great full your shit still works after having that pos on your system.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Florida
    McCafe jesus.
     
    Frick says thanks.
  4. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I actually had the opposite experience. Switched from MSE to Panda Cloud, got infected a few months later and switched back to MSE. Not a problem since.
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,405 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,718
    Netnanny anyone. Disable all porn/warez/torrents, only allow sites such as nickelodeon/cartoon network. School sites...
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,358 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Location:
    Florida
    this is actually a very effective program.
     
  7. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Kaspersky is only $5. It's my personal favorite AV.

    I wouldn't trust MSE in India, I stopped using it in VN due to the sheer number of infected computers around.

    I use K9 on my kids computer, it works like a charm and is free.
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,952 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I suppose just like anything else everyone'e experience will be different... combined with a decent browser with adblock (where most users get ads from anyway... thru the browser, mostly ads), and some educated browsing and whatnot, it should be good.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,252 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    Oregon
    That free 9 months of Bitdefender was a good deal. I wish I would have got more keys

    I have paid for Kasperski for 8 years now but MSE is the free AV I install
     
  10. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Louisiana
    +1 to K9!!! Works fabulous not just for kids, but for limiting exposure to many potentially infectious site types!
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2014
  11. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    442 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Romania
    I think MSE it is better than nothing, but are more good options for free, and not so expensive for the paid ones; I use Avira(no web module), because it is general ok and have light footprint on laptop(and it is free)...
     
  12. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I'm always on the lookout for alternative software to try. Web browsers, email clients, antivirus, word processors. Every once in a while, I look around to see if there are any new offerings and load them up in a VM for testing.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  13. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I like to do this as well, only instead of a VM I've got an old pc I use. I'm always cruising around for new and free software to try out.
     
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I don't know if anyone posted it yet; but, BitDefender has a free version with no Ads (per them) and uses what it calls "zero configuration".

    To quote BitDefender's site page:

    I, myself, have not tested it yet... however, their other products are good to excellent, IMO.
     
  15. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,559 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yes, I did, in post #18. :D I use it on my HTPC....it's highly rated, low on resources, and requires virtually no action from the user. And there are in fact, no ads!
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  16. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Anybody got any opinions on Kingsoft Antivirus 2012? It seems to score pretty highly on various tests, and Wikipedia says that it's won multiple awards.

    EDIT: As soon as I opened it after installing it on my XP VM, it popped up with a warning and said I was missing several security patches (even though Microsoft Update said I was up to date). Clicked "Fix Now" and it downloaded & installed all the patches for me. Now THAT'S what I call service.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2014
  17. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Just a bit of an update on Kingsoft: after doing some digging, it seems that the company discontinued support for the English language version of Kingsoft Antivirus. The last program update was last september. People on AV forums seemed to think that definition updates would continue, but mine looked like they were dated last month. Shame, looked like a great piece of software.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  18. atfaniqbal

    atfaniqbal

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks A Lot Guys For Providing All This Good Information About Anti-Virus's Softwares... :)
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Thanks all for all the valuable inputs.

    For now the laptop is going to India with MSE in it. I have created 2 admin accounts (one for BIL and one for me) and 1 kids account with limited permissions. Will instruct them to exercise strict rules, if they F it up, created Restore USB drive using the Dell software that came with the laptop, they can restore to till 'in good hands' state!!

    That's the most I can help lol.
     
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    For some reason the battery left icon displays wrong time left like 59% battery left and 75Hrs of work time lol. How do I fix this? Windows 8.1.

    This happened all of a sudden.
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,887 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Reboot?
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Stick the power cord and reboot fixed it. Weird, never seen this before on any of the laptops I own/configured.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page