1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my beQuiet! Straight Power E5-450W enough?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Psyon, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Well, I'm actually considering upgrading my gpu... I currently have a Geforce 7900GS wich is quite old and needs to be updated. My System looks like this:

    C2D E6550 @3,5Ghz (500x7)
    Zalman CNPS 9500AT
    Gigabyte P35-DS3
    2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1000
    2x1GB OCZ DDR2-1066
    HDD Samsung 500GB SATA 7200
    HDD Seagate 250GB SATA 7200
    HDD Maxtor 60GB IDE
    2x Optical Drives
    2x 80mm Fan
    2x 120mm Fan

    the PSU:
    beQuiet! Straight Power E5-450W
    active PFC
    3,3V -> 30A
    5V -> 30A
    12V1 ->25A
    12V2 ->18A
    12V combined -> 30A
    combined Power rating: 450W

    So my question is: would this be enough for a Palit 4870 Sonic? Is there someone using the same PSU with that much load? Or should I better fall back to my first idea a Gainward 4850 Golden Sample? I don't want to buy a new PSU b/c good ones would cost me 80+ €
  2. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    You have a fairly loaded system and your power supply is also subject to capacitor aging.
    In short you should seriously consider upgrading your powersupply regardless of if you go with a 4850 or a 4870. I would say that it should be fine but yuo are pushing it a little bit.
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Many people here will suggest that you will need new PSU. Look my system specs everything works fine. The PSU is holding just fine. It is not even heating and the voltages are stable that mean that is not even trying to hard :D
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    get a 750watt pc power and cooling. it's plenty enough power for anything you may want to get in the next year or so. they can be had for around $120.
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Definitely wouldn't try that one, probably work for a little while... But risky.

    Get a solid 600+, that 750 PCPC is a great deal right now and a very solid psu.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,896 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well... it would work, but it would be stressing all the time. It's like sending a 10 year old to the gym and try to have him lift weights as much as a high school kid can. Just get a better power supply and have some peace of mind.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hm i have seen others running the StraightPower 450W with an oc'ed Quadcore and the 4850GS (in another forum) so that should work well. I love the beQuiet PSU for beeing quiet, having fan-control for 3 chassis fans and beeing rock stable. You can't compare this one with a cheap 450W psu. So if I'd go for a new one I'd probably go for a beQuiet again. But actually I'd rather take the slower video card (ie 4850GS) than having to buy a new psu aswell. Just thought someone with a similar system could say "I got more load on it and its stable".
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    4850gs???
  9. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Gainward 4850 Golden Sample sry
  10. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Another problem of course being that the 4850 doesn't pull much less power than a 4870. They're essentially the same card at different clock rates.
  11. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Reffering to these two tests it's a quite big difference (the test system is all the same):
    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/16...d_4850_golden_sample_graphics_card/index.html

    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1576/17/palit_radeon_hd_4870_sonic_graphics_card/index.html

    showing a difference of about 50 watts under load. In other reviews I saw similar results considering the ddr5 not to be as power saving as it should be.

    But I guess I should really go for the 4850 to be a bit more on the safe side.
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    man... a gx2 system with a Q6600 was only pulling 357W at full clip in that review...

    I would say "F^&( it" and buy the 4870, and just start saving some money for a new PSU down the road...

    It would be really sad to see you get a slower card just because of the PSU, especially when a setup with a clocked Q6600 and a 4870 was only pulling 290 Watts. youre fine...
    120MM fan - 20W(too much but we'll use it) x 2 = 40W
    80MM fan - 10Wx2 = 20W
    lets say you have the tweaktown q6600, 4870, 7200 RPM driver and one optical - 290W
    so that leaves you with another 100W for 2 HDD, Optical and 2 sticks of ram... and thats IF you were running an overclocked Q...
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    The problem people like you and a lot of others fail to realize is most of that is on 12 volt...

    He has a total of 30 amps on 12 volt to use before its MAXED.
    30 amps @ 12 volts is = 360 watts, and that's with perfect life caps which isn't true unless its new...

    So yes it would run, but again like many have said before, your asking for problems....

    We are also talking about a pretty heavily overclocked chip with 3 hard drives 4 sticks of ram and some fans...
    Not these test systems with 2 sticks and 1 drive, not a big difference but it makes one.
  14. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hmm.... I don't know. That review was made with just one hdd, no optical drives and no other not essential hardware. And I guess the peak power drain would also be a bit higher. But you might be right. I just found a review of the e6-450 (the successor of mine) saying that it ran solid up to 546 watts load. It's a german review if someone want's to read: http://www.technic3d.com/article-726,6-be-quiet-straight-power-bqt-e6-450w-neue-genration.htm

    If my e5 gets close to that it should really work... damn... What shall I do? :cry:

    edit:
    Yeah right, but for a 450W PSU 30 amps are not to bad, tpu-reviews say "30 amps" should be on the save side for 48xx series (but also mention 500W it should be :()
  15. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Buy a nice 750 watt psu, then wait a little longer and buy a video card :p
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Try again, it ran "peak" power of 546 watts....

    Try to compare it this way, I have a 300 watt amplifier for my car stereo, it peaks at slightly over 900 watts.....

    Peak means about as much as burst rate... Worthless in output terms.

    If you buy that card, it will run but nobody can say how long your psu will last with that kinda load, kinda depends on how much you game/bench. I mean I ran my 3870 with a e6750 @ 3.2 on a Antec Smart power 2 450 for about 6 months before the power supply blew 2 caps.
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    i totally agree with the amperage assement youre doing there - and i did realize that... but his first rail can supply up 25 out of the 30amp by itself, which is fine... and while almost everthing runs off the 12V; its not like his system is running absolutely everything off those 30A... the test system also has a quad core in it... there is no way a Q at 3Ghz uses less power than his E6550.

    i wasnt saying its the best idea on the planet; but it'll work long enough to hold him over to his next PSU.

    speaking of... what kind of warranty you got on that e5?
    Psyon says thanks.
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well ya, like I said myself it will work, but I would be pretty quick to get a bigger psu for safety..
    Psyon says thanks.
  19. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    it's 3 years warranty and 1 year 48h home service. Its a bit over one year old.
  20. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I would probably get the card you want and then just plan on upgrading your power supply sometime in the next 6-12 months.

    But I don't know if I would stretch for the 4870 over the 4850 considering your processor.
  21. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    why not the 4870? @ 3,5Ghz the cpu shouldn't be limiting that card. Its faster than almost all stock clocked c2d and quad should not give that much advantage over Mhz since most games stil don't support more than 2 cores.
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    You won't see much in performance gains with that chip, if you were pushing 4+ it would be a different story.

    I posted earlier that will my current setup I can play Crysis Warhead smoothly in enthusiast at 1920x1080 with 2x AA with my video card under clocked 540/900.

    You will see even less because you have a small monitor to be honest, now if you plan on buying a at least a 1680x1050 then it starts to become worth it imo.
  23. Psyon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    well with aa it wouldnt make huge difference, but I ran many games in 1600x1200 (at least older games wich my vga was capable of). And even with just 1280x1024 and 8x AA the 4870 should be noticeably faster, isn't it?
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Actually there does seem to be a half decent boost in performance even with a e8400 @ 3.6...
    So ya you can run for the 4870.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page