1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my GPU being bottlenecked by my processor?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Grant64330, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    I have a phenom 9500 (tlb patch off, no OC) and a radeon hd 3870 (its oced to 800mhz/1170 by factory default) and right now I'm getting 12fps on crysis at best..only at 1280x1024 at high...the odd thing is even if I turn down the graphics to insanely down to 800x600 and everything low, I still max out at 15 fps (at best:wtf:) Im running on Vista Ult. 64-bit, and on CCC 8.11 (8.12 wouldnt work on my system for some reason) I have a 700w PSU and 6gb of ram going right now at 800mhz)......... (its kinda pissing me off, I can go and play COD4 with everything maxed out with over 100fps lol) Also, for no reason my FPS when playing CSS will dip down to below 20 (my old P4 3.2ghz could get over 60fps on it :mad:) Any suggestions....:banghead:
     
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,661 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Meh you got something wrong somewhere and it isn't the cpu nor your graphics card.

    My brother plays Crysis on 1024x768 on a 17" monitor on an AMD Sempron 2Ghz, 1GB RAM, on low/medium settings 8600GTS 256MB and the game still runs smooth.
    And you say you put it 800x600 and everything low and don't get more than 15fps on your rig?
     
  3. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    try reinstalling the games and the drivers
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,661 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    And defragment your hard disk, and make sure you don't have background processes like an antivirus scan or antispyware scan running while you're gaming. Also disable your vista sidebar - that can take up a lot of resources depending on what gadgets you got.
     
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    there really isnt such a thing as bottlenecking, rather it is CPU scaling, happens with any setup.
    dont forget that crysis runs with the command line c:\program files\EA Games\Crytek\Crysis.exe -shitlist radeon
     
    r9 says thanks.
  6. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    Ok, I uninstalled and reinstalled and, get this....15FPS OMG (on high, 1280x1024, no AA...) and on 800x600, everything low 30 FPS!!!OMG!!! AMD YOURE SO COOL!!!! maybe when they can actually make a worthwile CPU and Graphics card that can actually do what you pay for without making over 10 revisions to drivers that are *supposed to* make it work will I buy ATI/AMD again... (im dling the demo, but EA's so cheap they only have a 300kbs upload cap, lol) i wouldnt doubt if the demo itself had an "activation key" or will only let you install it 3 times without dling a different one...no wonder why everyone pirates them....:mad:
     
  7. -mStat- New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Maybe you just have so much shit on your computer that, its not any issues with CPU/GFX Card scaling. Too many processes, or just to much shit running in general. Before you deem anything garbage. I suggest you do a clean install before you make that decision.
     
  8. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    53 processes on idle, 36% RAM being used and CPU at 7% while I'm typing this...most likely driver issue....btw, a while ago i dled AMD overdrive, apparently it doesnt work for vista ult (at least x64) Im tring to dl 8.12 but i doubt it will fix anything....(demo is still 300kbs cheapass EA :wtf:)
     
  9. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Now you're starting to troll. Kill the processes, 53 is way to many.

    9500 with no OC and your complaining about performance...FFS, crysis is a crapply optimized game. Crysis warhead is much better.
     
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    HD3870 and Crysis did NOT play well for me either. I couldn't even get the game to run with it. I kept getting artifacts. Honestly though, close some of the background programs and see if it helps.
     
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I cxould fold (on the card) and play crysis at the same time with my hd3870. 1024 *768 & e6400
     
  12. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,663 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ohio
    Chill man it's not AMD/ATIs fault something is not right with your pc not the video card/CPU like the are saying try defrag how much space is on your harddrive? You could try updating drivers..I know pcs with lower specs than that than run crysis faster than 15 fps
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    some AF base
    ummm you have something set wrong i played crysis 1280x1024 all high with a 3850 256mb no issues. 30FPS or so. is this a fresh isntall did you have an NV card in it previously? do you have a virus?
     
  14. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    sorry for blasting ati like that, i was pissed off that day -.- anyways, i have kaspersky anti virus, and i have a bad feeling its that, so im gonna try to uninstall it and see if anything happens..and i defrag my hd every week, and its a 400g 32mb cache one...if it really mattered. answers pl0x?
     
  15. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,661 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    Try the following - it will automatically kill all extra processes (including Kasperski) just for that login session (So you don't need to uninstall your antivirus or anything just now). Check your fps. If they increase, it's definitely a process issue.

     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    +1
    I played crysis with a 7900GS(700mhz/900mhz) and a x2 4600+@2.5ghz played around 20fps with everything on high 1280x1024 with no AA
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    hey cod4 is not really a intensly taxing game, is your card bursting into flames while you play crysis or try...? heat can add a big part to anything on a computer
     
  18. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Thats how the low end HD3850 performs ;) (VGA stock clocks )

    30/1/2009 9:05:23 πμ - XP
    Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
    DX9 1280x1024, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
    Demo Loops=2, Time Of Day= 9
    Global Game Quality: Custom
    Custom Quality Values:
    VolumetricEffects=Medium
    Texture=Medium
    ObjectDetail=Medium
    Sound=Medium
    Shadows=Medium
    Water=Medium
    Physics=Low
    Particles=Medium
    Shading=Medium
    PostProcessing=Medium
    GameEffects=Medium
    ================================================== ============
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 66.18s, Average FPS: 30.22
    Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
    Average Tri/Sec: 21033696, Tri/Frame: 696009
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.32
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    Play Time: 57.37s, Average FPS: 34.86
    Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 50.00 at frame 991
    Average Tri/Sec: 24530608, Tri/Frame: 703675
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    Play Time: 57.15s, Average FPS: 35.00
    Min FPS: 19.85 at frame 1933, Max FPS: 51.10 at frame 75
    Average Tri/Sec: 24611902, Tri/Frame: 703238
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.30
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
     
  19. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    meh on that test, i average around 12 or 13fps... id take the test and post it right now but its 5:00am so maybe tomorrow...anyways i might RMA it lol, performance is HORRIBLE on just about everything...ffs i get better fps on COD4 than cs:s (i average 25 fps on it..:wtf:) it might be visiontek for all i know, they are a pretty small company and ive heard of cards like mine having problems because of the factory OC that comes with it :mad:(777mhz to 800 core OC and around 1100 to 1200 RAM OC...) even considering that, im very dissapointed with ATI and whoever else made my card...you expect them to get it right when you pay them over $200 just for a graphics card:ohwell:... :( for ati (although no matter what, id always buy 4870 x2 instead of an overpriced geforce gtx 280 anyday:respect:)
     
  20. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    +1 and thank you. I think that you put end to this bottlenecking thing.
    "rather it is CPU scaling"
     
  21. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Your problem is not hardware related, its software related. e.g. drivers, bad user configurations, unwanted services etc. I didn't read your previous posts, but I would advise that you do a fresh re-format of windows if you haven't already.


    My system is weaker than yours AMD Athlon 3800 X2+ @ 2.8 GHz with 9600 GT.

    I'm capable of playing COD:WAW at a frame rate between 65 FPS - 90 FPS with full graphics, 4x AA, 8x AF, 1440x900. CSS should achieve better FPS.

    Throwing more money at the issue isn't the way forward, buying a ATI 4870 X2 may fix your issue but its money wasted as you shouldn't have this issue anyways. Likewise RMA'ing the video card isn't fixing the issue at hand.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  22. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
    just ran the benchmark, check out this bs: (my VERY old nvidia geforce 8600gs could probably do better than this-i am speechless)

    2/1/2009 6:46:40 PM - Vista 64
    Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
    DX10 800x600, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
    Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
    Global Game Quality: Low
    ==============================================================
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 202.24s, Average FPS: 9.89
    Min FPS: 2.91 at frame 245, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
    Average Tri/Sec: 10603104, Tri/Frame: 1072187
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 0.85
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    Play Time: 154.75s, Average FPS: 12.92
    Min FPS: 1.71 at frame 1946, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
    Average Tri/Sec: -13752102, Tri/Frame: -1064043
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -0.86
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    Play Time: 152.29s, Average FPS: 13.13
    Min FPS: 1.71 at frame 1946, Max FPS: 19.99 at frame 1633
    Average Tri/Sec: -14043560, Tri/Frame: -1069347
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -0.86
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
    ==============================================================

    Completed All Tests

    <><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

    2/1/2009 6:46:40 PM - Vista 64

    Run #1- DX10 800x600 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: Low ~~ Overall Average FPS: 13.025
     
  23. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Grant64330,


    I'm speechless.

    This proves that your CPU is fine, it isn't bottlenecking you :)

    Your ATI 3870 is definitely faulty, if you can get your money back I'd advise that you buy a cheap ATI 4380 for $99 or a 4850 for $150.

    The Nvidia equivalent would be the 9800 GTX+ which is about $150 ish.


    Edit:

    What score do you get in 3Dmark 06 with the ATI 3870 and Nvidia 8600GS?

    http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark06/download/
     
  24. Grant64330 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    hell
  25. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    If you ran it at default settings, no need for images as I know the default parameters. I only run it at default so I can get a good comparison.

    A score of 8741 for the ATI 3870 isn't bad. Its a average score. I score around 9,000 with my 9600 GT which is only slightly faster than your 3870, so your on track :)

    No doubt with a slight overclock of your AMD Phenom 9500 you could get over 10k easily. (not saying you are bottlenecked because you are not!)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page