1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is my graphic card dead ?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by AdasT, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    so i got this gtx 260 once i start the pc the gpu fan spins fast and it doesint show display is there way to fix it ?
    edit... i forgot to mention that i was using this gpu for 2 weeks
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Made sure it's properly slotted into the PCIE slot and has power connectors plugged in? if so try resetting your bios and see if that helps.
     
  3. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Get a 100% working gfx
    slap it in
    ?????
    profit

    It just cant get any more easy than this.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    That isn't very helpful. :ohwell:

    -Do you have power cables connected to it?

    -Does the system work with another GPU?
     
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,827 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    make sure that your monitor is connected to the jack on the GPU and not the motherbaoard.
    make sure that the graphics card(GPU) has the required power cables connected to it.
     
  6. AdasT

    AdasT New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom London
    yes it has cables connected and yes the system works with other gpu
     
  7. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    185 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    sounds like it might be dead, have you tried it in another system? just to make sure it's dead
     
  8. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Toronto
    mobo bios update needed?
     
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Does your motherboard have on-board VGA? If so have you disabled it correctly?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page