1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my hard drive going bad?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Derek12, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Oftentimes, randomly, but it happens more while browsing, my computer starts to freeze gradually.

    First the taskbar, then the desktop, then any opened program, until everything stops working altogether, showing the spinning circle. I can move the mouse around, I can move windows and such, but I cannot open any new program, nor the task manager, and I have to reset.

    I have no errors in event viewer no BSODS, SMART data is fine, no bad sectors, and the computer never hard freezes. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    631 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Sounds like a software/OS issue, though I see why you'd think it's HDD-related (since it looks like the system hangs on waiting for reads/writes)...

    Try it in safe mode with networking (so you'd be able to browse the net and not be bored for several hours), see if it solves anything. If it does, I'm probably right, and if not, you probably are.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  3. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,759 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    I'd also point to OS. Maybe a fresh install.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  4. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yeah. If you have checked SMART data and all is fine, I would suggest you check the OS.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,266 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,178
    Location:
    Oregon
    You install anything resently?
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  6. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Many thanks for the replies, reinstalling would be the last resort as it's a pain in the a** to reinstall everything specially the games :(

    I mostly suspect the HD because the HD light goes completely off when this happens except for some brief blink.

    I have scanned with many programs including chkdsk, SFC /scannow, vivendi and all of them came clean.

    I haven't installed anything new but I've update some things as the browsers, Steam, CCleaner, VMware Player, and installed some Windows updates, etc

    I will revert the Windows updates and try safe mode.
     
  7. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    The HDD light being off tells you that the HDD is not at fault. If it really was, then the light would be steady on meaning it is trying to read data.. :)
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,098 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,417
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    does your hdd give you strange sound that unusual? if yes maybe your hdd start to get in trouble
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Install "Crystal Disk Info" and you'll know. That's why i run CDI in realtime on all my systems. It saved me once so far...
     
    de.das.dude, Derek12 and Jetster say thanks.
  10. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,033 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,663
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    have you done a virus/malware scan?
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Many thanks to all, after defrag with mydefrag and a stringent cleaning it hasn't happened for 2 days so far but I will keep an eye on it.

    The drive doesn't make any noises even after freeze except the normal parking heads click (it's a laptop drive) I have scanned with Windows defender without any findings.

    This is what CDI reports:

    [​IMG]



    EDIT: $ยท%/&(/ Spoke too soon, it froze AGAIN just after posting this. I will try to record a video.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2013
  12. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ^The link is broken. Upload the pic to techpowerup.org and copy the IMG code below.
     
  13. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Here's the video



    Forgive the bad quality and lack of sound. Recorded with my netbook webcam.

    As you can see, Chrome is the only program that works, Paint (with the previous CDI screenshot) is totally unresponsive.

    If you watch carefully you will see the spinning circle when cursor is over the taskbar. It is totally frozen.

    The W8 right panel barely visible on the video appeared until I clicked a option then it wouldn't appear again.

    CTRL ALT DEL and ALT TAB were unresponsive as well as I tried several times during the video.

    The only thing I could do is to reset the PC as I did at the end.



    I'll reinstall if not choice but I want to avoid this at any price. Hope anyone can help.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    Bad ram?
     
  15. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    It's uploaded here in TPU, try reloading :)

    I doubt it as the computer won't BSOD or crash so far anyway I will try Memtest overnight, Prime95 doesn't work at all, it freezes the computer completely because it takes 100% of the RAM..
     
  16. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Get a USB flash drive and download the USB version of Memtest86. Then boot with that drive and it should eliminate any RAM problems. After it is done, get a live linux copy e.g. Ubuntu. Boot with it and check the system.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    Derek12 says thanks.
  17. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Many thanks, I have memtest on a USB drive already, I will try it overnight

    Anyway my lighbulb turned on, I will shrink my C partition and install another Windows 8 alongside this and make a easier transition to the new Windows install and check, hoping it's not a HW issue.
     
    itsakjt says thanks.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,886 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    reinstall chipset drivers
     
  19. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Ahaa. :) Yeah I am 95% sure it is software related. Time will tell. :)
     
  20. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I will try it.



    I hope :toast: specially as I can't afford anything
     
  21. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Froze again while playing music and it looped, the new install seems fine so I will format.
     
  22. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    malware, virus or memory leak would be my guess.

    Download and put the KAV tool on usb and give it a thorough scan. I can;t see if you are using AV software on the video, If you are using something decent then start looking for memory leaks.
     
    Derek12 says thanks.
  23. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    628 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    re-install O.S ONLY after doing a back-up first, that way it is a MUCH smaller headache then the other option.

    http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en

    Go to the Western Digital download page, and get the Acronis Back up software. It's free to You( according to Your System Specs), and other western digital owner's, and will give you either a bootable, or a back up copy of your current O.S. set-up, so re-install is much easier.

    Good Luck
     
    Derek12 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page