1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my HD dying?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Cratzky, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I've experienced some strange stuff for 3days now with the computer, it all ended up with a complete format (i suspected it was a virus)

    Now, here is a screenshot of HDtune i just ran..

    [​IMG]


    The disk was purchased in the end of 2009, its a samsung F3 500gb.

    Thoughts?
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Errrgh.

    Yeah that drives no good buddy.
    Time for a new drive.
  3. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    If SMART reports an error (and it is notorious for ignoring other important stuff) then you DEFINETLY need a new drive. I'd recommend a 1TB F3 to replace it.
  4. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    :cry: problem is that i dont have money for a new drive, and my work is on the computer, this is a very unfortunate situation, it just happend over night :ohwell:

    A question tho: can i buy lets say a WD black 500gb sata600 drive ? will it work just fine with my sata300 motherboard?
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Yes, it will just run at a lower speed.
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yes the HDD is backwards compatible with your machine :)
  7. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    i thought mechanical drives wasnt even close to max out even the older sata200? why would it run at a slower speed ?
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Running the SATA 3 drive at SATA 2 will not decrease the speed of the drive.
    Just halve the bandwidth which it can't even utilize anyway.
    It won't even completely utilize SATA 2 :)

    It will be fine but I am not sure what would have caused the drive to pack it in.

    Since you have already reformatted the drive I guess you have your data backed up on another storage device?
    If not do it ASAP.
  9. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Basicly, if i buy a wd black to replace my drive with, i will get roughly the advertised speed out of the drive? thats what im asking :)
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I'm not sure what the advertised speed of the drive is but I am sure it will run at it's maximum read/write speed.

    For instance I have a SATAII WD 1TB Black and someone on here had a SATA3 WD Black 1TB with SATA 3 capable mb, there was very little difference.
    As in had about 1mbps burst speed more than mine and the rest was identical.
  11. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Alright thanks for clarifying this, im a total noob when it comes to harddrives as its very rare for me to have problem with drives :laugh:

    Btw, SEAGATE - Barracuda 7200.12 1 Tb Sata 600 Buffer 32 Mb 7200 Rpm <--- Any good? its quite cheap
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yes the 7200.12s are fine Seagate drives.
    They are known to also be quieter than the WDs.
    Especially the WD Blacks.

    I only stick to WD because I have always had them and never had a problem with them.
    Besides my HP MINI.

    BTW make sure it is not a 7200.11 they're the ones which had a Firmware issue but if you are buying brand new the chances are highly unlikely you will get a 7200.11
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Your drive is dying, so you need to replace it asap.

    Do you really not have a backup for your data? Then you're guaranteed to lose it. :cry:

    Make a copy of it on another drive, USB stick, DVD, whatever NOW. I can't stress this enough.

    You should never, ever, not have at least two copies of your data at all times.
  14. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Alright thanks! hopefully i can get one soon :)

    I will try, unfortunately, i dont have either a second harddrive to backup my data, or a usb drive, or a dvd cd to burn.... im pretty screwed, i know...

    I will bring up my cellphone camera and start take pictures on the screen :D
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Beg or borrow an external HD. You won't regret it.

    However, it depends on how critical your data is to you. Only you can know that. If not too much, then don't spend time losing sleep over backing it up before the drive fails. :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page