1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my hdd failing or is this a virus?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by shevanel, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    WTF, I just bought this HDD about 4 months ago from newegg.. it's a seagate barricuda 7200.12 sata drive i believe.

    I'm getting this pop up every 15 minutes

    [​IMG]

    Should I take this warning super seriously?
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Could you click on the show details button? It looks like a valid windows error...
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Never seen it before, I'm guessing Windows monitors SMART and it's failing. Read out the SMART info yourself and verify.
    shevanel says thanks.
  4. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    luckliy i acquired an older 200gb drive thats been installed and waiting. i suppose ill start backing up in case it cracks. next time it pops up Ill click show details.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,996
    shevanel says thanks.
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Wow, good thing I gave you that old 250GB Barracuda 7200.8 the other day, looks like you needed it.

    And yes, I think I have heard about this warning and people's hard disks usually failing pretty soon after it. I strongly suggest you do a backup now, because the drive possibly could fail even on the next bootup. Take advantage of yourself actually getting an error instead of turning on your computer one day and your hard disk is clicking away or completely lifeless.
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    goodie gum drops now i gotta get a new drive and get this off to RMA..

    always something isn't it?
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i ran the quick scan and it retuerned 0 errors.

    running the non-quick (giggity) scan now..
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Did you look at the "Health" tab? There's probably going to be something highlighted in red on that page.
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    [​IMG]
    hitderdoo says thanks.
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Your HDD platters could be damaged. That's a ton of bad (and thus reallocated) sectors. You need to get that data off of there ASAP. If you do the error scan in HD Tune it will cause the drive to mark off more bad sectors if there are any more.
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    everything is backed up, i only had about 133 gigs of stuff.

    how is the seagate rma procesS?
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,996
    shevanel says thanks.
  14. hitderdoo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  15. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ive ran hdtune several times and it doesnt get any errors now. and it doesnt pop the message up.

    this was after reinstalling win7 fresh
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,160 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    it probably isnt using the bad sectors yet. i wouldnt put anything you really want on that drive or if you do make sure your backing it up every few days.
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The drive may have marked off the bad sectors and reallocated them to the extra unused sectors on the disk.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page