1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my motherboard dead? HELP!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Play3r, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    So i was having some issues with my computer randomly turning off for no reason. So i pulled it apart and pulled everything out of the mobo and plugged it all back in. now i managed to POST once after putting everything back together but now i am having the issue of nothing that is plugged into my mobo turns on at all. the fans, graphics card & its fan etc. I have one Solid Red led light up on my graphics card being a 4890.

    Any ideas? :toast:
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Double check that you properly connected all the cables/hardware.

    If that fails, pull everything out of the case , reset the CMOS, and run the system on a piece of cardboard.
     
    Play3r says thanks.
  3. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Ill try that again. but i have pulled out the BIOS battery and then the fans and everything turned on. but then it switched off and was back to square one of nothing turning on.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Got an extra power supply and video card to test with? I think its the psu.
     
  5. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Thats what i thought at first but all of (9) my harddrives and everything that does not recieve power from the mobo works. i do have an and extra old psu and gfx tho so i will try that.
     
  6. Exile_Chavez

    Exile_Chavez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    i had an issue like that when i oced(tried lol) to 4.1ghz, and my system wouldnt post, but reseting the cmos, and hitting the reset to optimized defaults button(or the load fail-safe settings button) in my bios fixed my problems. i oced back to my 3.6ghz stable and it was all good, now i dont know if your issue is oc realated, but reseting the cmos should fix your problem.

    if not however, answering these couple questions may help, me at least.
    -is your pc near any large fans?
    -has it been anywere near magnets, or vica-versa?
    -has any metal touched the actual motherboard and kind of scrapped across it, even a little?
    -is your cpu seated completely and securily?
    -are any screws on your motherboard touching any metal part of your motherboard?
    -(stupid one here) are there spacers on you motherboard?
    and finally,
    -have you checked you psu for suppling power to everything? (cpu, graphics, etc)

    just some general questions, sure they may not make sense, but they do to me :)
     
  7. Exile_Chavez

    Exile_Chavez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    dang i was hoping for the second post >_< teach me to type long posts on my phone again gosh
     
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Just throwing this out there, but is the 4/8 pin plugged into the MB? Any beep codes, etc.?
     
  9. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Exile - I have not put it near any fans or magnets or anything. Yes i have standoffs screwed in and everything. i have reset my cmos and pulled out the battery for it and put it back in.

    JATownes - 8pin plugged in. No beeps at all. it just doesnt do anything part from 1 solid red led from 4890.
     
  10. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Check the PCI-E cables on the 4890?
     
  11. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    352 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    u.k.
    whats the caps looking like on the mobo are there dome shape on the top if so your mobos died
    if not sounds like p.s.u. craping out on boot up
     
  12. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Yeah! a second the PSU failing

    Try another PSU (one that you know is good) if you can , if that didn't make any difference then maybe it could be the mobo...?
     
  13. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    352 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    u.k.
    you code try a one step set up I.E mobo and cpu and ram with no gfx or hard drives or dvd drives
    running two ELIMINATE any died hard were in your rig,
    and work from there see where you get mite help
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page