1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my PSU enough?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by medosoft, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. medosoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have recently purchased a new PC (DIY) and I've been experiencing some problems with it.
    While I'm working the PC would suddenly freeze and I'd be forced to restart it.
    This can happen during gaming, web browsing, video playback and sometimes when I'm not using my computer at all (That's why I doubt it is a CPU load issue). However, gaming would make it worse (Freeze more frequently)

    Well, it occurred to me that maybe my PSU isn't enough and that's what is causing the problem
    Here are my specifications:

    - MB: Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H
    - CPU: Intel core i7 - 3770
    - VGA: Gigabyte HD 6750 1GB DDR5
    - RAM: 2x 4GB Kingstone KVR1333 DDR3
    - HDD: WD 1TB SATA3
    And
    - PSU: Silverstone SST-ST50F-ES 500W


    Can you tell me whether this PSU is enough to power up my pc?
    And if yes, can you tell what is the actual source of the problem
    ?
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Yes. I have a 7950, 2 more hard drives than you, and a heavily overclocked 7950 on a no-name 600w PSU, havent had any problems yet.
    medosoft says thanks.
  3. medosoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, but do you have any idea what could be causing this problem?
  4. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    medosoft says thanks.
  5. s{orpion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    three most likely causes:
    1. cpu overheating (heatsink not flush or improper thermal paste application)
    2. software/driver installation issue
    3. memory issue.

    first, remove power, then open case and ensure ALL items are connected properly.
    memory, video card, cables. remove and reconnect if unsure.

    next, try running system with only one memory stick... does problem still exit?
    swap with another stick (incase you were incredibly unlucky and chose bad stick first try lol)
    still having problems?

    cpu heatsink?
    1. remove all thermal paste and reapply paper thin even coat only to cpu.
    2. carefully mount heatsink ensuring it remains flat and with full contact on cpu. (do not overtighten or will damage motherboard... finger tight should be sufficient)

    software installed properly?
    1. format drive install windows.
    2. install chipset drivers (very important before all other drivers)
    3. video driver, reboot, audio driver, reboot.
    4. install game and test.
    5. other drivers and windows update.
  6. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    579 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    enough to power up? most likely.
    enough to use? probably not. You should really get at least 600W PSU for having 6750 and 3770. Really though you should have 650W+

    PSU is most likely your problem. It could be other things too; but most likely your PSU is the culprit here.
    medosoft says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,906
    PSU (if not defective) is fine for that system.

    Not enough information to determine the cause of the problem.

    Run some stress tests (RAM, CPU, GPU) and check your voltages and temperatures.
  8. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    I would put the blame in the RAM. Try re-seating the sticks first. If that doesn't work try with one stick and run some memory tests then the next one. Windows Memory Diagnostic tool is fine and can be burned to a bootable CD:

    [​IMG]

    The extended tests should take a couple of hours to complete so find a movie to watch or something.

    PSU should be enough. I have that same PSU in my AGP rig and it was mucho more load (130w CPU, 120w GPU, old 2.5V DDR1 RAM, etc).
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. medosoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I don't think it is overheating because the hardware monitor tool is displaying normal readings (CPU max is 68 C, and GPU max is 60 C)
    And I'm 100% sure it is not a software problem
    So this only leaves us with the memory problem, I'm trying to figure it out. Thanks
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Wrong. At full load he will be under 350w at the wall. Likely a memory/driver issue.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page