1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my PSU good enough for Gainward Radeon HD 4870 1GB Golden Sample?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by WojtasRed, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Could you tell me?
    Code:
    Be Quiet 430W (28A).
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Never heard of be quiet. Is the 28A for the whole thing or just 12v?
     
  3. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    For whole thing (2rails x 20A).
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Well 20A across each 12v rail is very good and fine for a 4870.

    But I'd wait to find out if anyone knows about the manufacturer.
     
  5. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    That`s the point. I can`t find this information, that`s why I`m asking you :)
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Is it a dark series?

    A bit of googling says they're not too bad, and the Dark series are very good.
     
  7. Jansku07 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    171 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    http://www.silentpcreview.com/article677-page1.html According to reviews I've seen in the net it's a europe-only brand, which makes reasonably good PSUs. Not known to Americans because of this.
     
  8. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yeah, it`s Dark Power Pro (BQT P6-430W). Is this enough for Gainward Radeon HD 4870 1GB Golden Sample? I mean 12v rails (28A whole).

    Power consumption on load is 304W
    Code:
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2008/11/18/gainward-radeon-hd-4870-1gb-golden-sample/11
     
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I'd say you'll be fine, Dark Series seem to get good comments
     
  10. kyle2020 Guest

    Be Quiet PSU's are mass advertised in CustomPC, and they get raving reviews - Id say you'll be fine.
     
  11. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    You''l be just fine - do you have the required PCIe power connectors?
     
  12. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yeah, I`ve got two 6-pin power VGA connectors :) So 28A and 430W will be enough?
     
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Definetly :)
     
    WojtasRed says thanks.
  14. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I wanna hear others voices about this. please :)
     
  15. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I am running an ASUS EAH4850HD 512MB on a 400W Corsair PSU. Never let me down as of yet.

    Here's everything I'm running on it, just to give you an idea:
    AMD 64 X2 6400+ 3.2Ghz Black Edition dual-core
    4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 RAM 667Mhz
    ASUS 4850HD 512MB
    ECS Iris 1.0 Motherboard
    1 LightScribe DVD/CD-ROM Drive
    1 Seagate 120GB Hard Drive
    Corsair 400W PSU

    I play games on max settings all of the time. Always seems to work. I think you'd be fine.
     
  16. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Im running the ASUS 4870HD DK TOP 512MB with a Ultra X3 600W and now with a Corsair 650W with no issues.

    I think if the PSU is decent it should be no problem.
     
  17. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    How old is your power supply? Depending you may not want to due to capacitor aging. My old Antec Truepower 2.0 480 was holding up for a bit til it just shut down one day and decided that was it and just killed itself, bit of smoke and it was gone. Overclocked E6750 @3.6 and a standard 4870 clocked a bit higher.

    Just something to think about
     
  18. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    BeQuiet! is a great mark :) But 28A will be enough for 4870 1gb GoldSample?
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,472 (12.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,166
    I say you are borderline. With your system moderately overclocked, it's going to pull more than 400W at the wall. When I had a Q6600/4870 (all oc'd) it would pull around 480W at startup alone. BeQuiet PSU's are quite nice though, but I would opt for something in the 500W+ range.
     
  20. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Id say get a new PSU, like erocker said, its pretty much on the border with that PSU, u may actually run nice and have no problems, but u may also end up with a fried PSU and some other parts too. SO my suggestion is get atleast a 550-600 w PSU from Corsair or Tagan or any of the other good names around.
     
  21. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I`ll not overclock my CPU...
    Is 28A enough for this card. Cuz wattage is fine (about 350W in peak with P 9850).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page