1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my sytem dying...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Hugis, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Ok specs over there <---------

    Today when i powered up my mobo the alarm went off, looked down at the pc and the fan had stopped on the cooler.
    Weird, so i quickly shut down and went into the bios (temps are/were fine without the fan spinning) nothing out of the ordinary apart from the fan wasn't spinning.
    So i turned off and took out the power cable for 2-3 mins, booted back up and all was working as normal, had a quick check round the system with aida,gpuz and msi after burner and found my 6870 is at 98/99% load all the time?
    Has anyone else had similar problems?
    Could the system be on its way out?

    Only thing that installed recently was Arma2 and operation arrowhead via steam which updated directX.

    The TX750 is about 3-4 years old now.


    Thoughts please.

    Thanks

    Hug
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2014
  2. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    199 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Maybe your bios battery had no juice left in it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    doesnt explain the load all the time on the 6870?
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,473 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,615
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    bitcoin mining virus. Check task manager for dubious looking .exe's running from strange places on your C:\ drive.

    IEHighUtil is one of them
     
  5. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Cant see anything bad here..

    upload_2014-4-25_15-33-48.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2014
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,473 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,615
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    scan taskeng.exe(task scheduler) I just googled, and it seems it can be hijacked

    EDIT: Just run malwarebytes on your whole machine.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2014
  7. MustSeeMelons

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    119 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Riga
    I had the BitcoinMiner.Trojan in svchost.exe, got the free version of Avast and that did the trick. (Tried Malwarebytes at the beginning, worked too, but after a restart the Trojan was back and Malwarebytes was dead)
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  8. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    ok will do cheers ill report back :)
     
  9. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    What to do now?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    728 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    Not really going to do anything to help, but you should probably update your video driver....
     
    BarbaricSoul and Hugis say thanks.
  11. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    well whos a clever so and so...lol it worked
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    728 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    Well, I'll be damned, really? Haha. Why does Afterburner still report it as 11.5?

    Actually, why doesn't Afterburner report anything properly now? Doesn't display anything correctly like it did before.
     
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,473 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,615
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I thought this was the first thing anybody does when gpu problems arise???
     
  14. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    728 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    I only suggested it because their Afterburner said 11.5. 3 year old drivers are never a good thing.
     
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I had a TX750 go weird on me, and it burnt out 2 brand new GTX480s at the time. Shit happens. I use a TX750M on my server and it's reliable as hell......
     
  16. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    Maybe because it was indeed 11.5, Maybe he was using the drivers that came in the disc, a lot of people do that
     
  17. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Finally figured out that i had a mining virus, just for the info.
    Now swapped out to the green team with a GTX680 :clap:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page