1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my used 9800 pro really a 9800 card?

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by Bluemojo, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. Bluemojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just bought the card from someone saying its a BBA 9800 pro card.ATItool say its a 9800 pro(only tell you from reading the video bios) But when i use atitool to find max core. When the test run, the core speed would go up to 380 and then back down...I stop it when it keep on going down around 360 core speed...I am thinking this is actually a 9800 card, flash bios to 9800 pro. Please let me know what you guys think. :confused:
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2005
  2. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    431 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Download a program called Everest. Or, download Sisoft Sandra. Both will give you details on your graphics card.
     
  3. Bluemojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    those 2 software would only tell you what they read from the video bios(correct me if I am wrong here)...
     
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,233 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yep those programs will only tell you what the BIOS tells it too
     
  5. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    431 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    my bad

    but does it not tell you the bus width??
     
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,233 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    yeah but a bad Bios Flash would show an improper Bus Width as again it has modified the BIOS
     
  7. Bluemojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I check the bios. Its stated I have a 256bit card. Does the AtiTool normally lower the core speed when you try to check for max core test? The card is r360 core I find out after removing the hsf.
     
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,233 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well if its and R360 core it is definitely a 9800Pro but the previous owner may have killed it trying to flash it to an XT and possibly damaged the Memory or Core
     
  9. YawAKooL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Or its a bug in ATI-Tool. I had 4 ATI-Cards (9600 Pro, 9500, 9700 Pro, 9800 XT). Only with 9600 Pro it went above core speed, the rest went down. And only with the new drivers.
     
  10. Nobru_rv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    160 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    9800pro has a minimum 2.8 NS memory because its default is 340. So look if your memory is 3.0 or 3.3 NS then u have a 9800NP.
     
  11. Bluemojo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for all the help. my video does have 2.8 hynix and r360 core..maybe its my old motherboard acting flaky on me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page