1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my VCore too high?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flava0ne, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I currently have my VCore at 1.425V (without VDroop) with my 4.40GHz OC on my i7-980 (not X). It's the minimum I can set it to for 24h Prime95 stability. Because I know that Intel recommends to not exceed 1.4V on the i7-980X but I don't have the extreme version and I've read that for the regular 900 series i7's that 1.5 should be the max. I just want to make sure that I don't fry my processor with my current VCore setting.
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    ZOMG its gonna melt!!!!!!!

    nah, just kidding man. While there will me more damage done over the long haul than if you used a lower voltage, if the temperatures at 4.4GHz are managed, voltage is really only at the limit of how big your grapes are;)
    Flava0ne says thanks.
  3. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    It is fine but if you can get the Vcore down then do that, But if you down the Vcore then your System Stability will also down.

    I suggest you to contact hat, he is a master overclocker.

    Remember it is
    hat
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I would say with adequate cooling that Vcore is OK. I have a p4 still sucking 1.55v + :)

    Maybe if you play around with the BIOS you can get it more stable with less volts?
  5. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    P4 at 1.55v if i get my P4 at that it is going to fry for sure then i will eat it in my dinner :D
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    keep in mind that P4 is build on a larger process... larger processes are more resistant to higher voltage than smaller manufacturing processes
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,567 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    not nesessarily. Most of the time people over shoot the voltage they need for specific clock, and higher voltages can make a system just as unstable as to low of voltages. if one is to lower the voltage a bit while keeping the same stability it cuts back on temperatures, power consumptions, and can help preserve the life of the chip a bit more.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,567 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    A P4 can handle more then 1.55v. Its ran on a 90-120nm fabrication process and those can handle a lot more voltage then what is currently out, and I mean A LOT MORE! I remember reading about people putting 2.0v through those things back in the day.
  9. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    The temps I get on 1.425 VCore on my Corsair H80 is approx 25 degrees on idle and never goes past 65 degrees while playing BF3. The only time temperatures reached 83 degrees on cores 2 and 9 was when I ran Prime95 for 24 hours, which in reality, would never push my processor that hard.
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,385 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,567 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    It is fine, especially on water, just keep temperatures in check.
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I really couldn't tell you. I just got my i7 920 running last week and I haven't gone nuts with it, so I don't have much hands-on knowledge about overclocking with the x58 platform. Based on what I've read I would have to say 1.425v is high for that chip, but I'm not sure of what it takes to run at that speed. I have a friend with a 980x and if I recall correctly he runs 4.4GHz at 1.35v, but I have no idea what his stability standards are.

    You may be able to considerably lower your voltage down from 1.425 by backing off the clock. Try backing off 100MHz at a time and see what you can do with the voltage. It might be something else that needs voltage and you're indirectly solving the problem by overloading vcore and having voltage bleed into something else. It looks like you're actually underclocking 2000MHz memory, so I wouldn't bring the memory sticks' stability into question. You are running 6 sticks, where 3 would potentially give you better oc ability. I'd start looking at what your QPI link and Uncore (NB freq. fiend under memory in cpu-z) are running at. If they're excessively high, you may need to add voltage somewhere else...

    I don't really know what's what myself, as I said before, I haven't reached into any extremities yet. Your best bet, if you want to keep your 4.4GHz speed, would be to pick at that info I quoted from the x58 guide we have here and see if maybe raising voltage on something related to your QPI link, uncore, IOH chip or one of those other items (which are probably of less importance than what I listed here if I know/guessed right, since you're not going super extreme) has any effect on helping you lower your vcore. Quickiest, easiest, safest and most probable course of action here is to just knock done your oc a bit, 100mhz at a time and see if that helps. Maybe you just got a low clocker, sometimes it takes huge amount of voltage to break through those barriers.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    525 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Pentium 4 has gone all the way from 180 nm(Willamette) to 65 nm(Cedar Mill).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    These are my current voltages in my BIOS, everything else is on Auto:

    CPU VCore [1.42500V]
    CPU VTT Voltage [+250mV] [default value 1.1V (+0mV)]
    CPU PLL VCore [1.875V]
    IOH PLL VCore [1.875V]
    QPI PLL VCore [1.350V]
    DIMM Voltage [1.660V]
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I dunno, don't know what voltages there mean what and what range of performance you should be getting out of them.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1.425 is a bit excessive Id be more worried about the vtt voltage vtt must be within 0.50 of the core voltage a i7 should not need more then 1.38v ... ever I don't recommend running more then 1.36v people say thats fine and it is but when the chip degrades in two years you will wish you had keept it a little lower
  18. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well i keep my volts at 1.41
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,385 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    seems a little excessive.

    Stock voltage of the P4 631 is 1.2V-1.3375V. you are at 1.41 and only OC'd 200mhz?? try lowering your voltage and see if your rig still remains stable

    According to most forums, the 631 should be capable at doing 4Ghz on stock volts or just a small increase. 5Ghz@1.55v and 8Ghz@ something like 1.9v - obviously@1.9Ghz, you would need LN2 to cool it as the heat would just totally surpass what conventional watercooling is capable of.

    [​IMG]
  20. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    I can get my P4 at 8.7 GHz with 1.98v but it get hot over 100C and shutdowns automaticaly because of my stock cooler i cannot get it more 3.2 Ghz, and there is another problem i used a X series mobo to do that but it was fryed so right now i have a 945G mobo which do not supports OC at all, I don't want to spend any more on this because i will be buying i5 in a few months
  21. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    489 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Topic: I think youll be fine. Ive got a mate thats running 1.6v on his 920 for 18 months now.
  22. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I was actually able to lower my VCore to 1.3875V, keep my other voltages the same and ran 24h Prime95 stable, I'll try lowering it a notch sometime this weekend. :)
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    How did that work? Did you lower any clockspeeds or anything?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    As a Pentium owner you are in a perfect position to comment on a i980. Please limit your self to what you know and stop doing double post. You are a pxxn in this forum. You do not need to reply to all post, I for one would rather see that stay within your 13 year limit and keep quiet until you are asked.

    My own position on +1.40 on this 32 nm is daring for long time use but best off luck.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    its not his fault hes from india there all trained to think there the lastest in tech support but they really don't know anything
    and I highly doubt he 's gotten a p4 to any-ware near 8GHz guys a idiot you need Ln2 just to post at beyond 4GHz with pentium4's
    mstenholm says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page