1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my VCore too high?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flava0ne, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe you're being a little rough eh? The kid's trying to help out a little. He's not an extreme overclocker (hell, I'm not). He hasn't messed with every pc platform known to man. He hasn't read every thread about every oc adventure. Maybe he doesn't know that hardware limitations morph from generation to generation. And maybe he didn't bother posting about his 8.7GHz P4 because it wasn't possible for him to run it like that for any period of time, thus it was irrelevant.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,865 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    yea but this is the 7th I have seen a post by him where hes done nothing but spout nonsense and its time someone tor him a new one =/
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Why are we still discussing P4's or who's does what in this thread? Please move to the OP's topic, and stay there.
    AlienIsGOD, Flava0ne and OneMoar say thanks.
  4. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    479 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Only thing I modified was the CPU VCore, same clocks at 25x176MHz.
  5. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    That voltage is fine for that chip, imo.
  6. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Bear in mind that the i7 920 is based on 45nm manufacturing process (Nehalem), while the i7 980 is based on a 32nm node (Gulftown).


    Anyway anything up to 1.45v is safe for 32nm on my book just keep temperatures in check.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    True, but it's still the same chipset. Same everything, other than the processor's oc capability and temps.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    hmm.. what you can do if i don't?
    Send me to my room mom?:laugh:it won't work because i am already in my room:laugh:,but really i wan't to know what you can do?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page