1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is sata 3 backwards compatible with sata 2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Achilles1600, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    is sata 2 dvd drives compatible with sata 3 cables
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    They are all compatible. I don't think there's really such a thing as a SATA 3 cable actually. I was under the assumption that a SATA cable is a SATA cable.
     
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  3. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    funny because some guy on this site once told me that sata was compatible with sata 2 the cables that is
     
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think they're all compatible with each other.
     
    Achilles1600 says thanks.
  5. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    im on my brothers ps3
     
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    And that relates to this discussion how?
     
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,810 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    sata 3 HDDs wont work in sata2 normally, there may be jumpers that can be set on the HDD to lower its speed to 3Gbps
     
  8. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Sata is Sata.

    they all work together.

    just like USB 1.1 2 and 3 all work together.



    All sata drives work with any sata connector.




    if it has a problem, use the jumper on the drive to set the Sata speed lower.
     
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,810 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072

    NOPE thats all wrong.
    My sata doesnt work on sata 1 mobos.
    dont confuse usb with SATA, thats would the 2nd most foolish thing.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    funny.. i have never had a problem with Sata.

    and i guarrente i have used a lot more HDDs then you in both Old and new motherboards.

    infact i just installed a sata 2 HDD into a 2003 PC 3 days ago......

    no problems at all.
     
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383

    Please just tell eachother you're wrong a few more times, don't mention any actual sources and then allow me to just add some nasty comment. It's what I do.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA#Backward_and_forward_compatibility


    Also, achilles1600. You and I both know your brother doesn't even have a PS3.
     
  12. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i am my own source :p


    had he post again i would have gotten 15 links stating Sata compatible with 1 2 and 3.
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,810 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    here! im posting again!!!
    :cool:
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    i can assure you it does work. You may have a poorly designed SATA I controller which requires the jumper to be set on the back of the HDD, but most of the time you dont need to bother and it just works.
     
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,810 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,072
    na i think the mobo is f'd up, he has it for like 4-5 years!!!
     
  16. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Some sata2 drives state that they will work with sata 1 but don't even have a jumper. The only problems i had a few years ago with old sata chipsets was mixing up hardrives, IDE + Sata = nope. I now do the same on me new mobo and all works fine.
     
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,000 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    yes, you wont have the full capability of the SATA 3 port if the drive is SATA 2, or you wont have the full capability of a SATA 3 drive if the port is SATA 2
     
  18. whiteandnerdy670 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin, USA
    If I have a SATA3 harddrive and a motherboard with SATA2 ports will they be compatible? :nutkick:
     
  19. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    No
    I mean, you can work with your harddrive, it will be functional, but it will not have the real speed it has
     
    whiteandnerdy670 says thanks.
  20. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Do SATA3 HDDs (mechanicval drives that is, no SSDs) actually reach SATA3 speeds?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. whiteandnerdy670 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin, USA
    im getting the HDD in a parts combo on newegg, i just needed to know if they would be compatible. Thanks.:respect:
     
  22. whiteandnerdy670 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin, USA
    not even close :shadedshu
     
  23. whiteandnerdy670 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin, USA
    older SSD's would get up there and new SSD's are near the SATA3 max speed. But Disc type HDD's are still pretty slow in comparison. you's want SATA2 for any disc HDD since they're faster than SATA1 can handle. Somehow i know all this but cant figure out (with out help) if SATA3 drives work with SATA2 motherboards:wtf:
     
  24. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    they don't even reach sata 2 speeds
     
  25. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    In no way. The speed of SATA3 you see is theorytical and the physical speed is another one
    Though SSD's pourpose is speed, so if what you say was true, than NONE would buy ssd's
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page