1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is something wrong with my gpu or gpu-z?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Anjon, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. Anjon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just installed an EVGA GTX 570 into my rig a few days ago and gpu-z is giving me some weird data. It claims my default mem clock is 1900 ghz and the current reads 950. It also displays the memory as DDR2 and not GDDR5. Also, there're all these "Unknown" entries that I can't seem to fix no matter what I do. What do I make of this? I've searched for other gpu-z readings of the same card, but so far I haven't seen anyone else that has this problem.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,994 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,303
    have your drivers installed properly?

    I've seen misreadings like this from two causes - one is bad drivers, one is a bad card (usually a fake or something)


    oh and the GPU clock vs default clock could be because the cards in an idle state.
     
  3. Anjon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I bought the card from Amazon, so I would hope it's legit. And installing the most recent drivers was the first thing I did when I got it. Maybe I should reinstall them? The system information in Nvidia Control Panel says "1900 mhz (3800 mhz data rate)". Also, I've tested both idle and during benchmarks. The active monitoring tab shows mem clocks up to 1900, but that just makes it weirder.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,994 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,303
    GPU-Z shows the real clocks, before the marketing BS of DDR doubles it. so the 1900Mhz matches up there.


    the only weird things are the unknowns
     
  5. Anjon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I just uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers, but it didn't change anything. I'm really tempted to get a replacement from Amazon and see if the discrepancy is still there...
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,994 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,303
    try some older drivers.
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,359 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,564
    it's a gpuz bug, will be fixed in next release
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  8. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    London
    GPUZ detects my second card as an "standard VGA graphics adapter" Any ideas?
     
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    London
    Actually it's like my second card wasn't there.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page