1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is the "Corsair TX750w" enough for three cards?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Gainward, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. Gainward

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden/Helsingborg
    Hi Guys!

    I'm asking about if this Power Supply is enough for 2 GTX460s and one GTX470 :confused:

    I'm not gonna OC them, i will use them at the stock speeds :shadedshu

    Thanks a lot.
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    No.


    Simple answer. :)
    Gainward says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,724 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,868
    The GTX460s are going to pull about 120w each and the GTX470 will pull about 180w under load.

    I assume you are doing something like folding with them 24/7 or something. If it was a more generic 750w I'd say don't risk it, but the Corsair 750TX should handle it.
    Gainward says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    @OP: More detailed answer (above) is no doubt the truth, but I wouldnt feel very good loading all the cards and the CPU. :)




    Corsair or not, it would be very close to the max output of the unit in question, if not above.
    Gainward says thanks.
  5. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    If cards are not heavily OCed I'd say it can handle it without a problem at all. The 750TX can actually handle almost all of its 750W on the 12v rail.

    I know that you said you are not going to OC them, but maybe you bought some factory OCed ones.
    Gainward says thanks.
  6. Gainward

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden/Helsingborg
    That's right :) i will use them to folding (24/7)

    So i should change my power unit :(

    If the 750 is not enough, so witch power supply should i have? Bear in mind that i will OC all the cards on this new Power supply ..
  7. Gainward

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden/Helsingborg
    No, The cards is references
  8. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    price range?
    Gainward says thanks.
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,162 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,960
    Location:
    Home
    Using Newtekie's data, the graphics card will pull about 420w, coupled with the ~200w for processor and everything else, the total is about 620w which is still fine by the looks of it. I am not too sure whether the 750tx has multiple rail, because that might prevent you from running all those cards due to load problems.
    Gainward says thanks.
  10. Gainward

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden/Helsingborg
    About 250$
  11. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    the 750tx is single rail rated for a maximum of 840w so really it will handle the cards fine. if you are going to upgrade the 950tx is amaxing almost 1100w high amp single rail will power more then enough gpu's or the hx1000w its also rated for 1100w etc etc but is modular and costs almost $100 more
    Gainward says thanks.
  12. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    1 pci express can provide 75w + 2x 6-pin connectors each delivering 75w... I am bad at math but I think your being optimistic considering its 3 video cards we are talking about.

    Someone correct me If I am wrong please.
    Gainward says thanks.
  13. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    It's mostly irrelevant from where those 420w of power come from: PCIe slots or 6-pin connectors, all of them take their juice from the 12v rail.

    Also the fact that PCIe can provide 75w does not mean it is providing all of them all the time and consuming from the PSU. It's just the maximum spec.
    Gainward says thanks.
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Wattage should be fine but what about amperage?
    Gainward says thanks.
  15. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    wattage = amperage X voltage

    wattage enough (on the 12v rail) == amperage enough

    The concern about what the 12v amperage is comes from the need to know how much the PSU can handle on that rail. In this case it's 60A which equals 720W. 12 x 60 = 720W

    And that's something I always asked myself btw. Why do they usually list the 12v amperage instead of the wattage. It is unnecesarilly confusing.
    Gainward says thanks.
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    specs show 60A on the single rail.
    Gainward says thanks.
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,074 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    +1.

    That PSU should handle it.

    May be go on to Corsair's website and use the tool to decide which PSU it recommends?
    Gainward says thanks.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Ok the PSU has 60 amps. So how many amps combined are two 460's and a 470?
    Gainward says thanks.
  19. Gainward

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    39 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden/Helsingborg
    Thanks to every one!

    So there is some hope :)
  20. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    It's not completely as simple as this, but going by newtekie's 420w number. 420W / 12V = 36A
    Gainward says thanks.
  21. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I believe there is ALWAYS hope my friend. I just don't like to rely on it that's all :toast:
    Gainward says thanks.
  22. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    While I think the cards will get clocked, and the numbers will swell, I dont think they would break 45A between the cards.
    Gainward says thanks.
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    My 2 cents is to buy something bigger. If the 750 is anything like my TX650 then you will regret. I run a 450 and a 460 and my 12V is down to 11.82. Buy a 80+ Gold, 850, Enermax, Silverstone or ?
    Gainward says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,126 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    I've run similar on my Antec 750 which is on the same level, for the most part, as the Corsair- so I think you will be okay.
    Gainward says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Well that doesn't happen on my brother's 750TX and I hardly doubt is the norm for Corsair PSUs. Not that is terribly wrong btw, it's still well within the ATX specs and is still more than many brands offer, but all the reviews that I remember showed that Corsair PSUs are especially strong on that front, offering more than 12V in all load ranges (if anything you can blame them for overvolting rather than undervolting). I think you just got bad luck.
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
    Gainward says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page