1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there a problem with my graphics card?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Nick89, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I havent experienced any other problems in games except IL2 1946.

    Anyone know why this is happening? The card is at stock settings

    UPDATE!*

    I changed catalyst settings and I think I made it worse....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,696 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,101
    It's not the card physically if it's the only application that is messed up. It's either the app, the drivers or a combination of both.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  3. Katanai

    Katanai

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    953 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I dunno man. I can tell you from experience though, that game will run on Intel graphics, so it's not the power of the card, it's most likely a driver issue...
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Definitely driver problems, something you could try is to play around with Catalyst AI settings.
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thanks, I'm going to try playing around with the Driver settings. I'm using cat 8.12 btw
     
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    ok, i think is drivers but try to find older drivers, beat the game and then put new ones.
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Updated, I think I made it worse...
     
  8. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Worse how? Did you try using the 8.11 drivers? You can download legacy drivers from a link towards the bottom of the current drivers page. The says something about viewing older driver versions
     
  9. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    yea but its such a pain to switch to older drivers, i'm playing GTA 4 right now and would probably have a performance decrease.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page