1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there any real world performance difference going from this ram to this ram

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by trt740, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    You may see some differences when using winrar, etc. But why not get the ECO series?
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    trt740 says thanks.
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I suspected as much. It is fast as hell already. Might be smarter to just add another 4 gb of the cheap stuff. Although from what I read all that does is improve load times slightly.
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, that might be better, but it will affect both NB and cpu clocks, running 8GB.

    It's slight...I really do notice a difference from 1333CAS9 to 1333CAS6, seems like 5-10 seconds get shaved off of boot time.

    I have been running 8GB for some time now...it's too much. I barely go over 4.5GB while gaming. IF I could run 2x2GB sticks, and 2x512MB, I would, as it would lessen load on memory controller, and might allow for higher clocks.


    I think Intel had the right idea with triple-channel, and 6GB, when it comes to my memory usage.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  6. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    You get what you pay for, I run my 12 Gig of Mushkin Relines at 1660MHz 7 8 7 24 1T @ 1.62 V Latency is <50ns
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    and is there any real world difference other than benching? From what I'm reading sounds like you have nice ram that makes almost no performance difference, other than in benchmarks or am I wrong? Seems you could have saved a boat load of money buying cheaper ram and received near the same performance. If this isn't right correct me. Having said this your ram might allow a higher N/B or stable overclock because it's better binned, but maybe not. These are the questions going through my mind.


    My case 9 DDR3 1600 seems to allow a very decent overclock and is very quick in the real world. So I'm not sure if it is worth the money difference.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  8. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    The noticeable thing for me is improve snappy response from the system. It feels like going from a HP, Dell, etc pc to something a little quicker. In everything too. The more memory intense the program the more you will notice it.

    edit: Although I should add that the Mushkin isn't worth the money with the terrible tRCD timing. Especially on an AMD. These Ripjaws with promo HARDOCP106C

    Not sure if your board supports them but if they do then that will be a lot better.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2010
    trt740 says thanks.
  9. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I build a few systems a week (that's my job) and have a lot of opportunities to compare components side by side. The impact of memory speed and latency on real world performance is one of the things I've tested most extensively, both myself and by doing blind tests with other people trying different setups out and telling me if they detect a difference.

    Flat out, no. You would need a stopwatch and an operation that takes a long time to complete in order to detect the difference. To me, that does not qualify as a "real world performance difference."
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,872 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    All the comparative reviews I've ever seen of RAM modules only shows something like a 5% difference between the best and worst. Hardly noticeable in practice and hardly worth shelling out so much money for it in my book.

    Part of the reason the difference is so slight, is that the CPU and memory controller minimize the impact of latency and slower-running RAM as much as possible and do a pretty good job of it, too.

    BTW, this is post 2000. :D :D
     
    trt740 and TIGR say thanks.
  11. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Well said, and congrats. :toast:
     
    trt740 and qubit say thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,281
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    AMD and INtel handle memory different, boys. Far larger impact on AMD than Intel.
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  13. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm not sure I understand the timing part these red lines run at 6-8-6-24 T1 and the Ripjaws you posted are Cas7 7 7 24 T1 what makes them faster?
     
  14. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Like I said, AMDs are sensitive to timings especially once you push the cpu-nb up over stock. With a tRCD of 8, the best you're going to get tRAS is 24. With the Ripjaws it could be possible to run 21 tRCD if the board and ram like each other.

    Just noticed what board you have and it will not boot anything 1600mhz at lower than cas 8 with the 4x multiplier and cas 7 is the limit with the 3.33x multiplier. So the Redlines are a waste as you're never going to get cas 6 unless you use the 2.66x multiplier. This is a hardware limit of the board so there is no getting around it. I have it too.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Well then they will do ddr3 2000+ at cas 7 and ddr3 2000+ at cas 8 so that should work. I don't know but I just bought some redline and if they don't work out, back they go. I want them mostly to see if my oc becomes higher. They are supposed to be able to reach crazy speeds besides tight timing at the lower end. I will send the back if I cannot see any difference.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2010
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    You won't be doing 2000mhz on that board or with an AMD cpu. Maybe if your subzero or have a cherry X6 otherwise, no.

    The board is what is limiting you on your memory overclock.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I'm not so sure it does 1800 + already. It also says on the web site it will as long as the memory is in slots 3 and 4. If not no big deal it a great board 8+2 power and has no problem hitting 4.0ghz on the core and 3000+ N/B. I currently use N/b 2750 because it allow a more well rounded overclock of everything but it is a great board. My last X6 did 3000+ N/B with my current memory. I will try it and who knows even if it does 88824 T1 1666 and allows a higher overclock or a more stable one then thats fine. It is stable as hell already. Heck Master your very knowledgeable about ram maybe you can help me tweak it. Is 8 8 8 24 t1 reasonable. If not what do you think is.


    Here is my board ,however, it is all blue and seems to be a newer color scheme but same revision as listed here. http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3010#ov
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2010
  18. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Are you sure it is not the 790XTA? I have a really hard time believing 1800+ on the board you have listed in your specs as no one has been able to do that because of physical limitations of the board. Though I don't know of many who have a X6 on that board either.

    What bios are you on and do you have a CPUz validation (just because I'm curious).
     
  19. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    i'd take redline over ripjaw because of latency of 6-8-6-24 is more attracted then ripjaw's 9-9-9-24-2N and latency will be serious impact to stock performance. but if you tend to overclock then gkills may be better choice because of higher latency.
     
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I don't have it anymore but it is on a 1099t thread here some place I will see if I can find it and several people on Xtreme have hit well over 1800 on this board. Also my board looks exactly like that motherboard it's all blue but it's not that board it's the one I have listed.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    A while ago in the Mushkin support thread I asked about the Redlines and Shawn said they weren't for AMD. Look for a set that does support AMD with tighter timings and you will notice a difference. You need to make sure that your CPU/NB is clocked to at least 2.6ghz as well.

    Have you tried tightening up the timings on your RipJaws?
     
  22. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    won't tighten , and they won't tighten on any reviews either.
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
  24. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Can you link the XS thread then? What bios are you also?

    I ask because I'm thinking about getting a X6 for that board and wonder how overclocking support is for it.

    edit:
    Oh that's very nice for the price.
     
  25. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    sure but it is also for the ddr2 version
     
    mastrdrver says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page