1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is there any way of putting SAS hd in a simple computer?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by tuneboy, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there!
    is there any chance to connect a SAS HD, for example the one that is used in IBM x systems to a simple home computer?
    if i would need a controller will it support raid?
    thx alot in advance!
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Simple SAS controller. Most are RAID controllers. The good old Perc5 can be bought for ~100 euros which is an 8 port hardware controllers.
  3. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so i actually can put 8 hard drives together? and they will work just fine?
    can you recommend on a good cheap controller?
    and i have another question, do you know of any mobo that has sas controller on board even if it's a mobo for servers....
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Plenty of 5400/5500 boards have SAS onboard. Just browse the sites of tyan, supermicro, asus, intel and whatever othermanufacturers there are. Just check ebay for SAS.
  5. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    tuneboy: welcome to TPU!

    There are lots of motherboards with integrated SAS controllers. Here are a few that come to mind:

    Supermicro X8ST3-F
    Intel S5000VSASASR
    Asus DSEB-DG/SAS

    You can also get SAS PCI and PCI Express controllers. There are also cards with both SAS and SATA drive ports. See here.
  6. tuneboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for the help guys
    just one more question, if I put any of these controllers in my motherboard, how will the hard drives will be connected? specific cables or maybe something else?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page