1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there ANY way to play SM3.0 games on older cards?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Casheti, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I was just wondering if there's some way to force them to work on older cards or something.

    I know this is a wild swing in the dark but I thought it was worth asking anyways...
     
  2. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    All games should automatically have a SM 1.5 or 2.0 mode, should SM 3.0 not be present.

    SM3.0 is NOT required for all direct X 10 features anyways.

    A DX9 card is perfectly capable of running a majority of direct X 10 features.

    Same with Direct x 8.1 and Direct X 9.
     
  3. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    SM3 = DX9.0c not DX10...
    And primary example Spiderman 3 cannot be turned down to SM2.
     
  4. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    haha sucks if you bought that shitty game.

    You got screwed twice!

    Wasn't SM2 a big thing about DX9?

    Or was there an addition I wasn't paying attention about?


    EDIT: Ahh yes SM3.0 was 9.0C I was off by one version. SM4 is Direct X 10.

    With Direct X 9 you could always revert back, but apparently you can't with Direct X 10.

    hah, enjoy vista. Good thing none of the decent games are DX10 only.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
  5. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Rainbow Six Vegas doesn't have an SM2 mode. I looked around for one, before I decided on getting an X1800, as I was planning a cheap upgrade to a used X800 XT from my old 6600.
    Splinter Cell Pandora Tommorow has a patch released tat enabled SM2 as an alternative to SM3, and for cards not supporting SM3.
    Not sure many games though I know that STALKER and Oblivion have SM2 compatibility built in, while STALKER can use SM3. SM2 won't be dropped completely for a little while, X800s are still capable cards.
     
  6. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    To answer your question:

    There is NO way to use an SM2 card to play SM3 applications:shadedshu

    Either the application will have a built in feature to support SM2 or you can install a patch that will add SM2 support.
     
    Casheti says thanks.
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    That's all I wanted to know.

    Thanks for the other replies guys.
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,033 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,105
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you're trying to play Oblivion, you could always use Oldblivion (download), which supports SM2. It worked fine on my FX5200 Ultra.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    1. I haven't got that game
    2. My X800XT (if you read my specs) is a temporary card.
    3. I haven't been screwed - I'm not the one with the problem.
     
  10. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Ummm... Oblivion works fine on SM2 cards. That patch must allow it to work with other old features, not SM2.
     
  11. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Yeah, I think hat misinterpreted me, I meant as in, most games (newer ones) have two modes, one for SM2, maybe older, and SM3, and I used Oblivion as an example, heh.
    Although Oldblivion does help with older SM2 cards.
     
  12. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Nah I'm trying to play DiRT actually :(
     
  13. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    All games will work anyway, just without all of the eye-candy ;)
     
  14. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    note: I do believe 6 was the highest rating anyone has given spiderman 3 for PC.

    maybe you get it now? :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page