1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there anything to worry about while installing a new PSU and Graphics Card?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Tekelectric, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. Tekelectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yes, static is the number 1 killer of installing hardware.

    Be sure to touch the case to ground yourself out.
     
  3. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    570 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    keep your fingers out of the socket ;0
     
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,783 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    read the instruction carefully and make sure everything is plugged in right, always recheck before turn it on
     
  5. Tekelectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    At this point, how will I know for sure the graphics card will fit? From the pictures, it looks huge and I dunno if it will.
     
  6. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    That card will take up two slots but plugs in one PCIe x 16.
     
  7. Tekelectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  8. Tekelectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh, also what do I do if my motherboard has only 20 pins and my power supply has 24, vice versa?
     
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    They will work together the extra 4 are just that. extra. But its a sign that something is old and or cheap and should be replaced eventually with the proper hardware.

    The CPU 12 volt 4 / 8 pins is ok if its just 4 pin. Just make sure its the correct plug. Do not force a round peg in a square hole
     
  10. Tekelectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    57 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Speaking of extra pins, I just realized my board is a 4 pin. So should should I buy an adapter or something?
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,954 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,992
    Location:
    Oregon
    No. Do not use adapters. Just plug the 4 pin half in. Make sure its the correct half the plugs are different. Do not try to put a round peg in a square hole.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page