1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there anyway to make Quake 1 to run on my system?

Discussion in 'Games' started by SaiZo, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok, first of, specs of system:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (Eng), x64
    8Gb memory (DDR3)
    Phenom II class CPU
    nVidia GTS 250 1Gb graphics card
    Built in soundcard

    I remember that I once used something like DOS Box to get the game running, but there was no sound if I recall correctly. But I didn't have Windows 7 at that time, and it was a X86 OS.

    Recently found my old games collection (Quake 2 runs perfectly, no CD audio however).
    Just wanted to 'kill' some time, and test out some of the old mods I still have on another disc (CTF + bots).
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Wyoming
    As I recall I was running Quake I on Windows XP just fine. What you could do is partition the hard drive and dual boot with Windows 7 and Windows XP. Of course providing you have a copy of Windows XP.

    You could also grab the virtual XP from Microsoft and set up the Virtual machine running Windows 7 Ultimate. The graphics for that would probably run the first Quake just fine.
    SaiZo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,084
    Dosbox have improved a lot over the years, try it again.
    SaiZo says thanks.
  4. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Thanks, I do have extra harddrives installed in my system. Some are 'blank' (no data), I'll try both options. Also, just spoke to one of the guys at the hardware store, he said google for "DirectQ".

    So I did, and found something that will make it run without altering any game files, like a mod almost. Installing Q1 later this evening and will try it.

    EDIT: It uses DirectX instead of OpenGL..
    stinger608 and Jizzler say thanks.
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    stinger608 says thanks.
  6. Muhad

    Muhad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Have you tried to install as Administrator and before starting the install right click on the .exe and choose Windows XP and the O/S to run the game under? Worth a try anyway.
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah dude try XP compatibility mode first.
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  8. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
  9. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    652 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    FitzQuake

    Pop that into your Quake folder and play.
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn!!!!! This thread is totally awesome!!! Old school games on new school systems!!! I love it!!!

    I like the looks of the RemakeQuake that you listed Goodman! Going to give that a shot. Also knew about the 227 patch for the original Unreal. That frigging game was soooooo far ahead of its time it was unreal..........LOL, pun intended. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    You know who started it all though right? It's all TRWOV's fault on that 3dfx thread of his :toast: And then it got everyone all sentimental about wanting to relive the good ole days :laugh:
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,327
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh:Ya got that right Hap!!! Of course I really miss them simple days of gaming, drinking, and not giving a shit:roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,178
    I play Quake I-x64. Yes it won't run on x86 lol
  14. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    167 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  15. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    you could do a retro build just for older games? :D
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,302 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    AZ
    available on steam along with the others, just in case a few cents isn't worth the hassle for you. Any retro games I buy on steam seem to work on my current platform no matter how old the game, just saying.
  17. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    I tried running Hexen 2 on my system and it gives me an OpenGL error.


    ^
    Which is why I am doing this now :D
  18. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,178
    Download and install nglide and play it in "wrapped" 3dfx mode.

    It works perfectly for all ID games, Half-Life, Daikatana, Diablo 2 and all games based on Unreal engine

    http://www.zeus-software.com/downloads/nglide/compatibility

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page