1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there hope for this 7950?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Binge, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Alright TPU detectives. I've been chatting with a couple folk trying to wrap my head around this shoot-storm of issues I've had since upgrading my 5850 to a 7950. Maybe the collective could lend some insight.

    Problems:
    -Occasionally required to re-install graphics drivers to restore system stability.
    -Unigine Heaven 3.0 stuttering and sound popping.
    -Terrible game performance.
    -Multi-monitor for split desktop causing system instability.

    Hardware:
    i3 530 @ stock-4.0GHz
    4GB GSkill 1600MHz 7-8-7-24
    XFX DD 7950 3GB (12.2, 12.3, 12.4, 12.5 beta all tested same results)
    Gigabyte UD3-R P55
    Corsair HX1000 PSU
    650GB Main Drive with a fresh W7 64bit install
    1-6 x Dell U222H (all configs except for 1 monitor unstable)
    Cyber Power Conditioner/PSU 700W Max load

    Let me know if there's anything more I can tell you.
     
  2. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,913 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Did you run driver sweeper/ rid yourself of ghosted hardware and try everything at stock speeds?

    EDIT: Is your fresh install of W7 with SP1?
     
  3. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Latest W7, after having problems with my old W7 install I wiped, updated everything except for the GPU and then installed the GPU drivers mentioned in OP. Used ATiman uninstaller to swap different drivers.
     
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,913 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Are you getting your sound from your GFX or separate audio interface?
     
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    sound is from my onboard realtek
     
  6. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,913 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Doesn't sound good for your card...
    You installed all your mobo drivers and W7 is W7 sp1.....and you didn't have this problem with the other GFX....I dunno
     
    Binge says thanks.
  7. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    It appears like some Radeon 7xxx series cards have this issue I've seen some other posts cant remember which websites but have you considered returning the card and getting a replacement it could be that particular card, If possible go get another 7950 and see if it will still have the same issue.
     
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That is a possibility, but like any customer who puts forth the cash for a high end card they'd like it to just work. If there was anything I was missing or some fix a fellow TPUer could suggest I'd feel better having asked than feeling salty and RMAing the device. At least I'm getting the idea this is uncommon.
     
  9. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Have you tried the HD5850 after this issue appeared with the HD7950, try the HD5850 and see if it will produce the same problem,... so it could make it easy to rule out other components.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    I could say it's just your card that's defective, however I've encountered these issues with various AMD cards and Realtek audio. Replaced the Realtek with a sound card, issues gone. If you can get your hands on a sound card, give it a try.. Or possibly try using the sound onboard the 7950 via HDMI.
     
    Law-II, jmcslob and Binge say thanks.
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    have you tryed a custom install of the AMD drivers and not install the audio drivers ?
     
    Binge says thanks.
  12. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Yes and I fail to get results :(

    ::EDIT:: On the flip side I have gotten less instability by changing the voltage on the card. Making me think this is a weak chip or possibly a bad power controller.
     
  13. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,913 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I've had problems as well but the usual issue for me is the HDMI audio from the GFX not working upon boot up...i'd usually have to disable the onboard and reboot in order to get the HDMI working....I'd sometimes get a blue screen and a restart and then sometimes I'd get a failed to load AMD driver issue...

    I had a very similar issue to this that involved a PCI to PCI bridge error from W7 installing it's own generic driver instead of the AMD driver (AMD 785 chipset) and that was easily fixed by installing the chipset driver and then reinstalling the GFX drivers...but since he did a fresh install of W7 and likely DL'd the latest chipset drivers for his mobo and then installed the latest GFX drivers I doubt that's the cause...
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    I was kinda thinking the same

    Maybe it's the codec's ?.. Maybe install a 3rd party set of them.
     
    Binge says thanks.
  15. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have crackling and popping sounds in some of my games because I set the audio to 48000hz, which is fixed by switching to 44100hz. (because I do music recording and I'm too lazy to switch between the two all the time so I leave it at 48000.)

    Click the speaker icon in the taskbar, then the other speaker, then the advanced tab to check your sync rate is at 16bit/44100hz.

    As an example, Skyrim is known to crash at rates other than 44100 and 48000.

    Hope this helps. Good luck.
     
    Binge says thanks.
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,017
    have you ruled the PSU out of the question?

    have you tried the card on a friend's system?
     
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    PSU was ruled out because my older cards work just fine. Like a GTX280 etc. I think the card is having power issues and has a weak core and weak memory. Just earlier today it was putting pink squares on the screen and they danced around. Put in another GFX card. No issue.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Pink Spots/Squares on Screen has been happening to Many GF users aswell, some suspect Java to be an Issue.
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    I think that may be it. I get pretty bad vdroop on my 7970, however I think I just have a really good GPU that can handle the low voltage. GPU-Z will read the actual voltage after vdroop.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page