1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there something wrong with my card?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by BradleyKZN, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    In Crysis I see strange artifacting. Like a blanket of black is being stretched across part of the screen. Sometimes its there and sometimes not. This doesnt happen with any other games or benches. Do I need to RMA?
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    are you overclocked? how are your temps? What drivers are you using? Does it do it when SLI is disabled? Can you run Furmark without instability or overheating?
    sorry for all the questions just need some info to try and help
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Nothing is overclocked, my temps seem fine,Drivers 185 something, I havent even thought to try it with SLi disabled I never thought to try Furmark even :p what would it mean if its fine without sli disabled?
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    sounds like the ram of the video card.
  5. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    +1
    What you are seeing are parts of frames not being rendered - blank know as artifacting.
  6. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    This is precisely whats worrying me!
    Edit: But why is this not happening in anything else?
    (Nice OC on your E5200 r9)
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Download and run furmark. If it artifacts, clear drivers(or reinstall windows, which I recommend) and do a fresh driver install. If it still artifacts after using multiple different drivers, you'll need to RMA it. I've gotten artifacting before because of driver crap before, so it might not be dead!
  8. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Please give me a link for Furmark :D
    If I do RMA the card, do you think I will be able to change it for a GTX 275 or something?
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Gigabyte RMA is total shit, I doubt it. Google furmark, I don't have it bookmarked or anything..
  10. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    LoL why do you say its sh*t?
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Because they took two weeks to respond to me with a generic "Do you know what you're doing?" message. Took almost a month to get an rma number and then they took another month to get it back to me. By that time I already had a crappy low end foxconn board that I hated. But at least it worked.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,214 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    It's usually the ram of the video card that starts to go bad, either being too high on clocks or the ram is of poorer quality, or even the combination of the two. Most have lowered their RAM clocks and the artifacts go away; now if that doesn't help then there is a possibility the GPU is even bad. All I can say is try to lower the clock speeds, check your temperatures and hope for the best. Worst comes to worst, check your warranty for the card. Warranty usually means not paying for it to be repaired/replaced. If it's out of warranty you still can send it in but you pay for it.
  13. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    So this is what happened last night

    Crysis

    Driver 185.**
    1680x1050 8xAA 16XAF Crashed with full screen artifacts

    Driver 182.**
    Didnt crash on bench but seems like it ran too fast, slight artifacting at water

    Crysis Warhead

    185.**
    1680X1050 8xAA 16XAF artifacting badly

    182.**
    1680X1050 8XAA 16XAF artifacting badly

    Furmark

    185.**
    Stability test - Instant artifacting full screen with post processing effects enabled but fine without

    182.**
    Stability test - Instant artifacting full screen with post processing effects enabled but fine without

    *Both times a second stability run would work fine even with post processing enabled


    Where I said Crysis seemed like it was running too fast, at high, on the settings above, its average during game play was probably around 45 FPS which is far too high. Warheads average was probably 20 on the same settings.

    Crysis Ran fine with sli disabled but crashed the same with Furmark

    So what do you guys think?
  14. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Does this happen in the same part of the game? If so these sort of things are sometimes fixed by updating the latest game patch.
  15. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Well im certainly not going to underclock my card, I want what I paid for.
    Luckily its still got more than two years left
  16. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    On warhead it seems to be in the same place but I didnt really look around to much as I was worried its getting damaged. In Crysis however, the artifacting appears all over the place, and even caused my PC to freeze with yellow and blue rectangular blocks completely covering the screen!
  17. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Bump!
  18. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Have you got the game patched ? I have had similar artifacts in the past when I first installed it which went away after i downloaded and installed all the latest patches.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    it could be a driver problem, it could be a game problem (needing patch, as said above) it could be a card OC'd too far, it could be a power issue, it could be overheating. It could also be a system overclock feeding bad data to the card, resulting in video corruption.
  20. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    No I havent but what about Furmark crashing?
    Also, when Crysis crashed, I had to restart my PC as I couldnt Alt-Tab out of it or anything
  21. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    I changed drivers and got the same thing, maybe patch but doesnt explain Furmarks problem, card is stock, and system is as well. Its not heat. It does the same thing with fan speed on full.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    fan on full means nothing if thermal paste is bad, or its memory/VRM's overheating.
  23. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Ok i see what your saying, but on Furmark, it doesnt have time to heat up, because it artifacts full screen the second I click on GO!
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    furmark would heat it up instantly. its that kind of program.
  25. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Even without Xtreme burn option selected? And if this is the case, would it be overheating?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page