1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there something wrong with my MoBo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by idiot564, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well i just got a few of the parts to my new CPU today

    Ram: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

    MoBo: ECS K8M890M-M (V1.0A) VIA K8M890 AM2 Motherboard

    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 x2 5200+

    PSU: 500 watt

    i hooked up the processor to the AM2 socket correctly, installed the heatsink and fan, but when i plug a monitor in to the on-board video outlet just to test it, i get nothing, the CPU fan turns on but i get no video output at all, should i be worried? or should i wait til more parts come in?
  2. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you have the memory in correct?
  3. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i put both sticks in and they seem be fitted correctly
  4. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    everything is plugged in corectly,meaning the power supply all connection are snug?
  5. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Before boot up did you clear the CMOS like the manuel say's.???:D
  6. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yup i moved the jumper from the 1-2 pins to the 2-3 pins and waited for about 5 seconds, should i wait longer?
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
  7. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i all power connections seem to fit properly
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    what's the brand psu, and the ram exact model?
  9. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    could there be a chipset problem with the memory?
  10. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the PSU's brand is dynex, the RAM is G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ
  11. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    isnt dynex a best buy brand? im sure it has enough to turn on the system but not sure about running it 24/7
  12. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yup its from best buy, i had it on an older computer for about 6 months and it worked fine
  13. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any beeps when you turn on the motherboard?
  14. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Did you put the jumper back to the 1-2 pins??!!
  15. Sn33kyp33t New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and you did shut off the psu when cleared cmos right?
  16. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the psu wasnt installed yet when i cleared CMOS, and i made sure CMOS was on the right pins, didnt hear any beeps at all
  17. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Hopefully not DAO MOBO,:banghead: :toast:
  18. idiot564 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    looks like it is, and its the ONLY thing i bought off ebay non refundable :(
  19. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Before you give up, take out the mobo battery and wait overnight then try again.:toast:
  20. Joshmcmillan

    Joshmcmillan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    892 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
    Or try a non intergrated video on it just to be sure.
  21. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    make sure your cmos battery isn't dead, test it or swap it out and try again.

    also be sure the monitor power is on and has all connections tight
  22. Dsopala New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the same problem bought the board from fry's electronics - got a gig of ram with it specs on the parts :

    PS : 430W Antec Earthwatts model ea-430
    RAM: Corsair VS1GB533D2
    MOBO: K8M890M-M

    I cleared cmos switched batterys plugged in the lights for the front panel as well. Both SYS_FAN and CASE_FAN turn on and spin no beeps at all its like it won't even compleate POST. I thought ok maybe the board is bad or it gets stuck trying to check the ram - removed the stick as an experiment and got a repeating beep. Tossed it back in and nothing no image or anything going to remove the battery overnight and put it back in after work tomorrow.

    The manuel says the chipset is the VIA K8M890 northbridge and VIA VT8237R plus/VT8237A Southbridge. If there is any other information I can obtain that would help solve this problem let me know if after work I can't get it to work I'm going back to fry's and make them fix their POS.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page