1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is there something wrong with my northbridge

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by skellattarr, May 31, 2009.

  1. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i was looking in the event viewer on win 7 cr 64 bit and found a lot of warning's that say
    A corrected hardware error has occurred.

    Component: AMD Northbridge
    Error Source: Corrected Machine Check
    Error Type: 28
    Processor ID: 0
    the source is wea-logger event id 21 does this mean my northbridge is bad or what does it mean? could this be the reason why i cant get my ram to 1066? when i do it crashes.
     
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Has the computer randomly shut down or it runs just in the back ground Win 7 fixes the issue? I will have to take a look and see if it has been doing the same for my rig. I have my memory at 1066 and 2600 for the northbridge. Have you overclocked the northbridge at all? If so how much volts you use? You can’t reach 1066 by setting it into BIOS or overclocking your BUS speed?

    I am sure some one has the same board you have can help out. Those are just questions I was wondering maybe could help some one diagnose your problem.
     
  3. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    right now everything is at stock except the ddr2 volt i have that set to 2.1 volts my system will only run at stock memory is 800 5,5,5,18 2t
     
  4. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    that mobo comes with a led panel that tell critical info about the board, look for a code on your led thingy and then on the manual or asus website/techsupport.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,170 (12.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,711
    What makes no sense is that the motherbaord doesn't have an AMD northbidge. Are your chipset drivers up to date?
     
  6. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Wow good catch Erocker :rockout:That may be the issue :respect:
     
  7. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    ya i have the lates chipset drivers maybe its rong becouse im on win 7 rc 64 bit.
     
  8. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Could be since it is a test OS very odd though indeed. I am using Win 7 also I think I will go back to Vista 64 for a few weeks. Since my system ran fine on Vista. You still cant get your memory to run at 1066?
     
  9. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    no but i think I'm going to get this ram because its listed in the compatibility chart for this motherboard.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146789
    and the memory I'm using is not listed.
     
  10. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    well i booted into vista 32 bit and in there the event id is 19 for the whea-loger and this is what it say's
    A corrected hardware error occurred.

    Error Source: Corrected Machine Check

    Error Type: Memory Hierarchy Error

    Processor ID Valid: Yes
    Processor ID: 0x0
    Bank Number: 4
    Transaction Type: Generic
    Processor Participation: N/A
    Request Type: Evict
    Memory/Io: N/A
    Memory Hierarchy Level: Generic
    any idea's on what i can do?
     
  11. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    my friend said its something in my cpu something is wrong with the cach and causing the forth core to fail. i don't know if its that or the memory but on a gadget on my desk to it shows all the cores working fine
     
  12. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
  13. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    649 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    midway city ca
    ya i read a lot of post in ather forums to that say's the same thing its all over the net its a defect some were if so many people are having the same problem
     
  14. JessicaD Microsoft Representative

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Skellattarr,


    Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Beta Support Forum located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to post your question there for further assistance.

    Also check out Microsoft Springboard for additional resources.

    http://tinyurl.com/832nco

    Jessica
    Microsoft TechNet / Springboard
    v-jedeen@microsoft.com
     
    tong says thanks.
  15. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Tried running some Memtest?
    4 individual sessions with ~900MB assigned to each should do it.
    The board doesn't, but CPU does have an AMD northbridge in it...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page