1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there supposed to be an Add Pop-Up in the bottom right corner of the forums?

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by newtekie1, Feb 28, 2014.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,029
    Is that supposed to be there? I'm running the standard battery of anti-malware on my machine right now, but I thought I'd ask. It only popped up once and I haven't seen it again, but it has me worried I might have picked something up.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,780 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    NO!
     
  3. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I have never had that... Run a couple of scans with decent a/v and anti-malware programs.

    Edit:
    What browser you using? Try a different one.

    Edit two:

    That is down by the tray... Do you have anything running in the tray that would throw you a pop-up?
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
  4. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    392 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Is that even in the browser?
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,642
    our forum has no ads

    does it move move wth the browser window ?
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,985 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oregon
    I had that about a week ago. It would pop up adds like Google does. I uninstalled an add on in Firefox and it went away. No clue where is came from
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,972 (7.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,199
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    This.
    Addon in web browser, find out which one (or just uninstall them all), and remove it.
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,301 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The forum puts a little bubble in the bottom left hand corner of the screen when a new alert comes in while you're viewing the forums doesn't it? It should disappear on its own if you don't close it I think.

    Edit: Maybe it's this but not showing up correctly?
    newalert.PNG
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,642
    yes, those bubbles are part of the forums, but they shouldn't look like ads :) unless I'm getting $$ for it :p
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,029
    Browser is Skinned Chrome, the only extension I have installed, ironically, is Ad Block Plus. The reason I though it might be from TPU though is because I have TPU whitelisted in Ad Block Plus to allow ads, usually ABP is really good at blocking ads.

    It popped up once, and went away when I closed the browser, so it is definitely in the browser. It hasn't happened again.*shrug*
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,200 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,545
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    using Chrome here too ... no adblocker or anything else than Avast installed aside Win7 and never got a popup like that.

    so i don't have ABP and TPU never shown a similar popup as yours... the problem is elsewhere ;)
     
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,375 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Looks like the Avant Browser... using Chrome engine, maybe?

    Have you tried checking task manager to see what is running when it happens; then, follow it back to see which app generated it?
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,029
    Yep, Avant using Chrome engine.

    Nothing unusual in task manager, and no hits in my round of anti-malware. So I'm shrugging it off as some kind of fluke since it only happened once and hasn't popped up again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    392 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Look at your screenshot carefully. The ad is over the browser scroll bar. I vote something external to the browser. Do you have Nero installed? Then it's a nero nag to upgrade, even from the paid version.
     
    DRDNA, 95Viper and Solaris17 say thanks.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,937 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,029
    I didn't think I had Nero installed on this machine, but I just looked and I do. Stupid getting old, my mind is slipping! That's probably it.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page