1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this 2500k overclock acceptable for 24/7?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrw1986, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Another update: Just TeamView'd into my home PC and it's been well over an hour now and it's still blending perfectly fine with 4.8ghz @ 1.38v :) I'm definitely going to toy with it more and get it stable at 5ghz w/ 1.4v. Temps haven't gone over 51C yet on any core.

    Edit: If I can't get it stable at 5ghz 1.4v then I'm just going to stick with my 4.8ghz OC. I feel like that is more than enough. I just like a nice rounded up number like 5ghz, that's all :p
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,864 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Now of course you know we expect ya to keep us updated on how the rig is over time, and whether you experience any issues...;)
  3. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Haha, you bet :p
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Hey mrw1986 I don't wanna be called a noob so I just OC my 2600k to 6ghz @ 10.38v. Am I 1337 now?

    All joking aside what are your clocks on your 570? I have the same one.....but nicer.
    mrw1986 says thanks.
  5. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    You bet! I would run 11v though, it's more stable that way.

    I run a pretty modest OC on my 570. 850@1100mv core and 3800 mem (haven't OC'd that yet).

    Edit: I pushed 900 core, but I didn't see a huge difference from 850 so I clocked it back down for stability.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Stock volts? Also what program did you use and what gains did you have?
  7. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I'm using the latest beta of Asus GPU Tweak. I just upped my memory to 4000 and its testing fine in furmark.

    I saw like a 3-5fps gain in BF3 @ 1080p all settings ultra...so roughly 10%
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Bah I was hoping for like 10+fps with a good OC. Sucks 100mhz only brings like 5 frames.
  9. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I agree, but sometimes those are the 5 you need to make it playable:)
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,658 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah. Put it on 11!
  11. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So is there any comprehensive guide to overclocking 2500k/2600k? I overclocked mine a while ago and just left it but the volts are a little high, and I'm wondering if I could mess with the 'C3', 'C1E', 'Vdroop' and whatever else to make it more effiecient. Mine needs 1.408V to get 4.7ghz. :cry:

    And unlike some guys, every little 100mhz or whatever overclock is very appreciated to me, coz I do audio recording, and without going into it, that shit needs A LOT of cpu power to run the way I want it to. :)

    Any suggestions?
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,050 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1.5v LOLNO ....
    keep the voltage under 1.4 .... unless you enjoy melted hardware .....
    -unless you can afford to replace a proc every other year ..
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I referred to one in my post.
    FreedomEclipse and Yo_Wattup say thanks.
  14. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks but that is not comprehensive at all. I'd call that brief. :)
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Good luck finding another.
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,600 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    If youre savvy enough to make it work then that guide is fine. I used the same guide myself to get 4.9Ghz.
  17. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yeah, my overlclock works, I just think I might be missing something coz I need alot more volts than everyone else seems to. I'm just looking for a comprehensive guide to verify I'm doing/not doing something wrong. :)
  18. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Been running 4.8ghz @ 1.38v perfectly steady :) decided to stick with offset voltage to take advantage of power saving features.
  19. repsol23

    repsol23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I know the feeling about the 5ghz mark. I gave up trying to get there when even 1.4v wouldnt get me there. I can run 4.8 all day with 1.32v so I decided that would have to do. Cant complain since my my setup has been really good to me.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page