1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this a normal 3dmark 06 basic edition score for my 8800 GT?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Raizy, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. Raizy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    [​IMG]

    E2180 @ stock - 8441
    @ 2.4 Ghz - 9975
    @ 2.6 Ghz - 10295
    @ 2.8 Ghz - 10933

    Also, the resolution in the picture says 1280 x 720 but when the real benchmark runs my TV says it's displaying at 1080i. I can only get my HDTV to say that it's displaying 1080i if I run a game at 1600x900 or 1920x1080 resolution, so I'm a bit confused here.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  2. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Seems about right for your setup.

    I score just over 12k with a G92 GTS and a 3ghz E4300 @ default settings.

    The resolution is as per 3DMark06 - it changes it when running the tests (just like you can change the resolution in a game)

    Mine for example defaults to 1280x1024 for 3DMark06 but normally runs at 1680x1050.
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  3. reviewhunter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I score 12k+ with an overclocked 8800GT 512MB & a Q66 @ 3.2Ghz

    Is there a difference in score between basic & professional edition?
     
  4. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Not when it comes to 3DMarks, that's the same on both versions. Pro just provides more options, that's all.

    @ Threadstarter:
    Score is 100% normal.
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  5. Raizy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    LMAO I asked because I just had this paranoid thought that maybe the folks at the warehouse switched the stock cooling fan between an 8600 and an 8800 aswell as the product code stickers and flashed the firmware so software would read the 8600 GT as an "8800 GT"
     
  6. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    buddy, xfx cards clocks are so low, :banghead:i seet on 3 or 4 cards, and this cards isn`t enough good for benchmarking, i think it sucks, because i have it an xfx 8500GT 512 ddr2 and my benchmark was 3021 marks!!!! :cry:(sucks a lot) and that`s why i change my gpu recently.

    i dont recommend xfx cards anymore.
     
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah Raizy those are the typical 3Dmark06' scores for your setup.
    I scored 8965 with my rig at default clocks with a XFX 8800GT xXx 512mb.
    Using 169.21 drivers, I scored less with 169.23 8887
    http://service.futuremark.com/home.action;jsessionid=9F7B141F8CA3D028559730740BD85F78
    So yeah overclocking your CPU does really open up the bottleneck on this card.

    In the case of my X1950pro, there was little bottleneck and overclocking to 2.6Ghz did not give a much higher 3Dmark than it would with a 8800GT unfortunatley I didn't get t6he chance to check the score with an overclocked CPU as the 8800GT is now RMA.
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    If you overclock to about 3.2ghz you should see a nice score

    probably around 12900
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,391 (12.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,035
    How can you even compare an 8500GT with an 8800GT? It doesn't matter what clocks the card comes with stock, that's why you overclock it. You do realize that there is no difference between a stock card version and a factory overclock version right? Just letting you know.:)
     
  10. Titus

    Titus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    270 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Issoire ( FRANCE)
    Hi :)

    OC factory versions are on the same base of the standard version for XFX ones.
    The 8800GS xXx can't be pushed far thand standard versions : same core, same memory chips ... just differents clocks in bios.

    On the other hand,, some factory as Asus use better components for their OC card versions ( capacitors, selected GPU and memory chips ... ). That's why the price isn't the same : higher cost, higher perfs ;)

    XFX sells economical versions. But some ones can push far, some others just a little bit more than stock clocks :mad:
    It' s a lottery.
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I noticed this with my XFX 8800GT xXx, the core temp needs to be lower the higher the clock is.

    If the 8800GT is at 670Mhz and hits around 95degC it's all over, artifacts and lock up.
    If the 8800GT is at 600Mhz and hits 95degC there are no problems and infact can reach higher temperatures without artifacting or lock up.
    I know, I had the xXx up to 105degC before I gave some sypathy and quit out of the game.

    But no card should ever be at those temperatures in the first place.

    So if the card hovers in the average 8800GT temperature of 80deg then it will have not one issue at 670Mhz.
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  12. Raizy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey, you folks know of any GPU-heat up tests I can run for 15-20 mins and see how hot my card gets? Playing a normal game my card only reaches about 60-62°C
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,674 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    US

    Not to sure but ATI Tool may work for heating your GPU up just turn on show 3D view. How ever Rivatuner would support your card better but does not have a option that heats up your GPU.
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=45596

    To check which v card you have try GPU-Z
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    rthdribl HDR test fullscreen.
    Heated up my 8800GT pretty quick
     
    Raizy says thanks.
  15. Raizy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    " rthdribl " AHh, yes this was the one I couldn't ever find on google because I always forgot what it was called.
     
  16. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Post back and tell us your temperature reading for us.

    I just recieved my replacement GPU, since a fault was found in the first one.
    I don't think they tested the replacement one before sending it to me though which I asked them too.

    Hope fully this replacement card will be fine.
     
  17. tomdog126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    help

    hi my system is amd 4800+ x2 2.53ghz
    4gb ddr2 800
    8600gt 512mb
    core 600/mem 420/shader 1350

    my 3dmark06 pro edition score is 4191

    sm2.0 1723
    hdr/sm3.0 1556
    cpu 1900

    this seems low or is this about right because i have seen rigs only a bit better scoring way higher
     
  18. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Score is 100% normal for your CPU. If you want better performance, overclock your hardware.
     
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I don't think so Jelle Mees - I got 4900 in 3DMark06 with my rig (see specification to the left). Only thing OC'd was my CPU at 2.31GHz. I suggest you run CCleaner and give y'system a little clean. I doubt it'll help much with your score but it'll help y'system. ^^
     
  20. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Eeuhm, an ATI 1950Pro is WAY faster then the 8600GT. 8600GT is a terrible product, in some cases slower then 7600GT!
     
  21. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY

    Seems kinda low....On XP x64 I get 14,800+ on my setup...which Is close to yours.
     
  22. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    I found that there is a temp file that gets created in your My Documents/your user name/local settings. After I cleaned this puppy out my score raised 3000 points to 15176. Dont' know why this affected my score but after it was cleaned it immediatley shot up. Hope this helps, don't think it was just a fluke, I had over 3gigs in there that windows just stashed away, CC Cleaner didn't find it either
     
  23. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    53 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Scores seems fine .. 3DMark06 scores are quite dependent on the CPU .. which i think is clear enough by the scaling between the stock and oc'ed CPU ... :toast: .. just as a reference i get 12500+ in 3DMark06 with my current config.
     
  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Your mark appears to be correct.
    Checking a PC Powerplay mag, a MSI 8600GTS with a E6600 at 3Ghz scores 5891
    Just cpu bottlenecking.
    Just keep in mind, benchmarks don't neccessarily relate to real world gaming.

    My brother has a 8800GTX, 4GB RAM, E6600 at 3Ghz and scores over 11K.
    But my rig plays some games much better than his and I get over 9K regardless of the OS.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page