1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this artifact .. my card is going down?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sy5tem, May 6, 2011.

  1. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    hello

    after 24 hours of f@h well now my card does this in game:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    is this the end of my unlocked 6950 (RMA probably ship back locked )
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    have you flashed it back with the original BIOS and does it still do it? if so, you borked it with the flash.
  3. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    the first thing i di yeah original locked bios

    btw this card was unlocked watercooled and oc'ed only GPU

    ram NEVER went over 1300mhz
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    you knew the risks when u
    a. flashed it
    b. removed the cooler and waterblocked it
    c. o/c it

    we all take those chances, u lucked out.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    For me it looks more like something's wrong with the game textures rather than artifacting, but I stand to be corrected. (After all, is the middle screenshot an in-game one?)

    Try a benchmark like Unigine..
  6. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    ya middle is a tunel :") black !

    any other game or uniengine don't reproduce same effect that why im baffled and those square don't look like artifact ,.,, artifact normaly are life gum you can move it .. those really look like texture problem indeed

    it does it in left for dead and left for dead 2

    ....

    might be mi CPU also gona underclock it ...
  7. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    well i finally got it in uniheaven
    [​IMG]


    weird thing its intermittent and sometime i don't see any of those square for minutes..

    wondering if doing the F@H damaged vrm cause i could hear a noise from my card while folding..
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  8. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    its the first time i see those kind of "artifact" my x850 died with artifact but they where much different! i just want to validate and be 100% sure because i do not want to RMA a card and the card wasn't the problem!
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have you tried removing the drivers and doing a fresh install?
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Why are you FOH with an ati card anyway, massive waste of electricity just not efficient enough at the moment.

    By the by, I imagine your unlocked shaders problem caused the issue, after all they were probably locked for a reason.

    ( which everyone seems to forget when they unlock their cards XD)
  11. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    oh yes i did , gave me blue screen , i ad to use windows system restore to be able to remove the driver and then install back!


    you have a lot of opinion do you?
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yeah crap tons, I'm a human. My whole life revolves around my opinions.
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Maybe I'm missing them but I don't see those squares in your unigine screenshot?

    If the only game which does them is L4D and L4D2 I'm pretty sure it's not a problem with your card.
  14. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    sorry changed screenshot now i ad put wrong one up
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    They're definitely artifacts of some kind, I had the similar problems to this just before my 5770 died.
    sy5tem says thanks.
  16. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    RMA? well gl, just as long the manufacturer can't detect the 3 things which voided the warranty.
  17. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    :roll: love it
  18. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    humm who make you say 3 thing?

    1.here is what xfx said when i wanted to change to water cooling:
    [ERIK_A 4/21/2011 4:49:29 PM] Hi Carl, You can install a 3rd party cooler onto our cards, just make note of a few things. First you will want to keep all the original hardware. The original fan/heatsink, retention brackets, and screws; that stuff will have to be reinstalled if the card ever needed warranty servicing. Additionally, be extremly carefull, any physical damage to the card will void the warranty, if your screwdriver slips and damages the card for example it will not be under warranty. - Erik
    .

    2.for bios now its on the original bios.

    3.for overclocking i am allowed to overclock , nowhere xfx said i can't overclock

    so why would i need luck?
  19. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    You aren't the first person that I've seen mention that checkerboard issue. Try 11.2.

    It's probably just a driver issue.
  20. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,060 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Can u flash back to the original bios? I'd do that and go stock speeds on all clocks if possible.
    Oh u did reflash back.. I'd RMA it.. They don't look like artifacts but one way or the other ya messed something up..lol..
    L4D and L4D2 have to many custom maps to be sure it's a graphics card issues. They are very common in that game.
    Bet if you alt tab out in l4d/2 it fixes it. Try reinstalling unigine and l4d/2. see if the issues persists.. also remove any custom maps.
    They have a tendency in some cases to overwrite textures that will lead to issues very similar to what I see there.
    Last edited: May 7, 2011
  21. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    :ohwell:
  22. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    620 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    That's what I was thinking as well. I would run through a whole plethora of drivers and see if it replicates in all of them before RMAing.
  23. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    all-right i will try that immediately ty
  24. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    perhaps you could swap the card into another system and see if the results are the same.
  25. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,863 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    he is wc'ing, he would need to remove the cooling and place de stock. Lots of trouble.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page