1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this good?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SparrowTech, Feb 17, 2006.

  1. SparrowTech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here is a screen of my current max stable overclock. Is it any good or do i have a dud?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ser-J

    Ser-J New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    211 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, USA
    Post your super pi 1m and 32m. Also is is prime95 and super pi stable. If it is then I think it is a good oveclock.
     
  3. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    its good for a first effort, take in to account overclocking takes good components, good cooling and stable voltages, the voltage and amperage stability of your PSU, the maximum frequency of your memory (with or without divisons), your cooling methods (heatsink+fan, watercooling, phase change), component quality and motherboard bios will all affect your overclocking ability,
    generic elixirs or nanya wont go as far as samsung TCCD,
    a 15 buck generic psu (which will probobly damage your machine) wont give the same results as a tegan or a OCZ psu,

    a ECS wont give the same overclocking results as a DFI,

    alot of detail affects max overclock, if you gut to 2.7ghz from 2.2 without using brand memory, choosing whatever motherboard you can get your hands on and the psu that came with your case, then its a very good result.
     
  4. SparrowTech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll get my super pi results posted as soon as i have a free moment to test
    so far i have been able to run all my games....Doom 3, Quake 4, Halflife 2, and UT2004 all at max with out a problem (except Doom 3 lagging a bit). Played each game for 2 hours one after another.
     
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I like it! Just wondering, what are your temps? The greatest overclock in the world can be brought down in a matter of weeks if you're parts are too hot (learned from experiences with a 9800SE modded to a pro)
     
  6. SparrowTech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    CPU: 41c idle 52c full load
    GPU:37 idle 42 full load
    NB:35 idle 39 load
    Super Pi 1m 34 seconds
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2006
  7. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    52c is pretty warm....

    whats your vcore?
     
  8. SparrowTech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1.68v had to up it for stability
    after 6 hours of hard gaming 52 on an air cooled system doesn't seem too bad
    but i would prefer it to be cooler...
     
  9. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    with my 3800+ venice @ 2.4 ghz stock it idles around 47c when i overclock 3.2 ghz and up the voltage to make it stable like 1.75 or something like that lol .anyway my idle temps shoot up to 67c thats with a thermalright xp-90c and if i try to play a game or something the temp will hit 70c and lock up my computer 70c=lock up point on athlon 64 too hot lol. I would have 3.2 ghz stable if the damn thing would stay cool.


    i have a 3200+ winnie that will do 2.8.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2006
  10. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    i bet that vcore is killing both of your rigs.

    i wouldnt recommend going above 1.55v for 24/7 use, or 1.65v for a quick benching session. it will quickly kill your processor. i ran my cpu at 1.7v once...for about 15 minutes, it didn't go above 40c, but i cant overclock as high anymore. i think my memory controller took some of the damage.
     
  11. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    my 3700+ (2.2) san diego core runs over 2.9 on a 1.5 core voltage.. mid fifties up there and under load with a zalman 9500 air cooler..

    its abit guru software controled anything from 2.4 for windows.. 2.75 for games and 2.9 for whatever i think might benefit from the max speed.. i dont run it flat out all the time cos when u can have it auto adjust u soon realise there really aint any point at all..

    as for gaming it dosnt seem to make any noticable diference whatever speed i run it.. being able to flip about easy from one speed to another does kinda make u realise just how little difference a few 100mhz makes in everyday usage..

    thats also useing nanya oem type memory.. so providing u set it right that dosnt affect cpu clockspeeds. mine runs just over 400mhz at 2.8 volts cas 2.5.. about 6200 in the sandra memory bench..

    i dont like going over 1.5 core voltage.. i recon at 1.65 my chip might hit 3.1 gig.. i just dont like taking it there..


    trog
     
  12. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    How do you take a picture of your desktop? i forgot i want to show my superpi and cpu-z pic , i know you gotta hit print screen on the keyboard but when i open like microsoft paint i cant get it to come up.
     
  13. Quake2owns

    Quake2owns New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    361 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I used to play doom3 at 1024x768 ultra quality at constant 60 fps on a sapphire radeon x850xtpe 1280x1024 was playable sometimes drop to 50-60 fps most of the time 1600x1200-30-60 fps lol
    I say 1024x768 high quality no v sync no aa the game still looks great and it should stay pegged at 60 fps.
     
  14. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page