1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this Normal for Core i5??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cleorina, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. Cleorina

    Cleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Guys i know Core i5 750 have max multiplier buy 21... why my Core i5 750 run at 3131Mhz at 23 Multiplier??? i have a bad processor or mobo? Now i run at Stock Speed for now...

    U can see the pic of my CPUID here...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    yes its turbo mode disabling a core and making the others faster but when all 4 cores are in use it will enable the core and make them all run at 21 multi. I had the same question wheen I first got my i7-860.
     
    Cleorina says thanks.
  3. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    It's normal, C3/5/7 states kicks in when you don't run multi-thread tasks, it basically overclock one of your 4 cores and put the other 3 to sleep
     
    Cleorina says thanks.
  4. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    948 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    420
    The multiplier on the newer Core i processors that use turbo boost is very dynamic. If you want an accurate look at what each thread is up to then try running a monitoring program like i7 Turbo.

    http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/Turbo.zip

    You can read about it here.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=225450

    When you run a single threaded benchmark like Super PI mod, it is easy to see what core or what thread is turbo boosting the highest. The multiplier can be changing a hundred times a second on these CPUs so old school programs like CPU-Z have a hard time keeping up with that and are not always 100% accurate, especially at idle or when the amount of turbo boost is rapidly changing.

    The i7 Turbo code ended up in RealTemp which also reports the multiplier very accurately.

    http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/3/1794507/RealTempBeta.zip
     
    Cleorina says thanks.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    4 threads... did you disable HT?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,136 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    i5=no HT, only i7 (and respective Xeons).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    theonedub says thanks.
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,136 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    Its sad I forgot that seeing as how I owned an i3 540 :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Cleorina

    Cleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ic... Thanks alot for the info Guys...:respect:
     
  10. Cleorina

    Cleorina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Guys what if i upgrade to I7 860 or 870... Will it more faster in OC then my i5 750? Max i can get is 4.5Ghz...

    By the way dose HT + your performance in gaming?
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    If you are solely gaming, then the i5 750 is more than enough for your needs. However if you are doing other things, then maybe you wil need much more power, but as it is, your i5 is still a beast, unless you can sell the i5 for good money, then don't bother about that weaker performance, it will be hardly felt.
     
  12. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,136 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    From what I have read (since I do not game on my i7 860) HT really does not have a substantial effect on gaming, so its not really worth an upgrade over the i5 750. HT is really more beneficial with encoding movies, science apps, WCG :D, etc.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, espically if you can hit 4.5ghz, hang on to that chip
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    Did you set your QPI ? try to set your QPI to the lowest setting, and set multiplier to 21x

    you can get 4+ Ghz with that setting, just increase your FSB and you V-Core carefully.

    and don't forget to turn off EIST, Turbo Mode, and C1E on your Motherboard Bios.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,487 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    just stick with what you got.
     
  16. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    4.5 ghz on i5 750 is awesome ,dont bother with HT for gaming ,in past it caused trouble with games (at p4 era ) and had to be disabled .It drops performance at gaming

    http://vr-zone.com/articles/does-core-i7-hyper-threading-helps-/6160.html?doc=6160

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page