1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this NORMAL? Gettin 70 c core temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 760SNAKEEYES, Apr 19, 2005.

1. 760SNAKEEYES New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hows it goin, just got ati tool last night, and im running the new ati omega drivers.....i havent touched the overclocking in the omega drivers or the atitools yet....everything is at default....i play FARCRY and after installing atitools i bumped up my fan speed to 100% just thought maybe the cooler the better......i tried playing FC and was getting phenominal framerates- i am new to this whole overclocking thing- but its pretty cool so far!

i am currently running a amd64 3500 939, 1 gig ram, and a ATI 9800XT......when playing FARCRY i was getting like 90-150 fps which is amazing but i just dont know if its stable or not- and i dont really want to risk frying my card! im gettin around 70c and when i run FARCRY i think i saw it go up to about the 80's!!!! dont knwo if thats really a good thing!! if anyone knows more about this please let me know if something is wrong! considering i havent really touched anything yet! everything is still on default- i only cranked up the fan speed!!........ thanks 760SNAKEEYES

2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

Thanks Received:
    Not sure if it's the videocard or the CPU that's getting 70c+, but both shouldnt get that high, definately not at stock speeds. Check if your fans are mounted well, my guess is that it's that. If not try to use standard drivers so you can exclude problems with the drivers.

3. 760SNAKEEYES New Member

Thanks Received: