1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

is this normal?

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by Artic Foxin Dell, Apr 14, 2007.

  1. Artic Foxin Dell

    Artic Foxin Dell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    I totally forgot!
    I want to OverClock my Nvidia GeForce 6200. when i OC as little as 10Mhz my computer starts to lag every so often. is this supposed to happen? :confused:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Yes?
  3. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    not very helpful really was it?

    anyway what are you using to oc ? what do you mean lag? in games or just in windows? do you get any artifacting etc ? more details ;)
  4. Artic Foxin Dell

    Artic Foxin Dell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    I totally forgot!
    Sorry for the Confusion!

    I am using the latest version of ATiTOOL. it lags in windows, it slows greatly down then when i play music my music starts skipping then it goes back to normal, then a while later it happens again. its a "Hiccup" Laag.
  5. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    not sure, but that card prolly wont oc well at all...my comp used to do that lag thing you are talking about but a few restarts fixed it
  6. Artic Foxin Dell

    Artic Foxin Dell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    I totally forgot!
    ok ill try again. *hoping not to fry my PSU or GC*
  7. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Oh, your PSU may be the problem. Didn't see that before. That is REALLY low for all what you have...
  8. Artic Foxin Dell

    Artic Foxin Dell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    I totally forgot!
    I got it to OverClock!
    Now its at 360Mhz(was 350) for Core Speed
    now its at 220mhz(was 205) for Memory Speed

    I lagged then went back to normal! my internal Speaker on my dell went beep beep. then it went faster lol.
  9. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    hmm...lol hey if it works keep it, but i seriously would get at least a 430 watt PSU for what you have, just to be safe.
  10. Artic Foxin Dell

    Artic Foxin Dell New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    I totally forgot!
    after 10 minutes it laged my Moniter went to standby my music was still playing, and no graphics lol. I rebooted and its fine now!:laugh:
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Hey listen, we told you like 10 times to get a new PSU, now get one! :toast:

    230W is really pathetic...
  12. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,382 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,218
    lmao! i agree! you dont need to spend much money these days on a nice 450 watter! think of it as protection. if you keep that gpu overclock you may be sucking power from other areas of your PC and you may fry it!!
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    He would have to buy a Dell specific PSU, or mod a regular psu. Dell specific psu's can be tough to find and expensive, and modding a new psu would automatically void it's warranty. Unless somebody knows of some sort of adapter cables, of course.
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,382 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,218

    oh...blah

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page