1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is this power supply good enough to run AGP X1950 Pro?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by suraswami, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,385 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Got this power supply for free after mail-in rebate.

    http://www.microcenter.com/byos/byos_single_product_results.phtml?product_id=243274

    Is this any good to power a AGP version X1950 Pro?

    My Setup

    MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum
    AMD 3800 X2 @ 2.6 Ghz
    X1600 PRO 256 MB HIS AGP
    160 G WD PATA
    2 160 G Seagate SATA in RAID
    2 Samsung DVDRWs
    2 GB Corsair Value Select Ram
    2 120 mm fan (one with lights)
    1 side 80 mm fan
    NEON case lighting.
    And Good old FLOPPY Drive:D
    All in a ULTRA ALUMINUS BLACK Case.


    All I play is BF2. The current system is quite smooth at medium settings.

    Is it worth upgrading to X1950 PRO with this power supply or go with mid-range X1650XT (Again HIS version)?

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    @38amps on those 2 +12v rails thats psu looks fine to me, mine only has the 1 12V rail w/30amps and thats good enough to power my c2d and x1950pro

    and go with the x1950pro, you wont see much over your curent x1600 over a x1650 but a x1950 will make all the difference belive me ;)
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,336 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah I have about 35 amps between 2 rails..my x1950 pro works great with my OC'd C2D setup. I highly recommend the x1950, it's a great vid card, and you get what you pay for with that product, just get one with a good cooler, or get a good cooler and install it..reference coolers aren't much to brag about.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page